Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowWide variety of resources in American history. Includes some primary source material.
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to over 25,000 videos in a wide variety of disciplines.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
Opposing Viewpoints article collections
- Electronic VotingFind all the latest news, articles, and pro/con opinions on Electronic Voting
- Voter RegistrationFind all the latest news, articles, and pro/con opinions on Voter Registration
- Voting LawsFind all the latest news, articles, and pro/con opinions on Voting Laws
Articles about Voting
- Digital-Age Discrimination: The Voting Rights Act, Language-Minorities, and Online Voter RegistrationArticle from Columbia Journal of Law & Social Problems
- Does the American Dream Matter for Members of Congress?: Social-Class Backgrounds and Roll-Call VotesArticle from Political Research Quarterly
- How the Electoral College System WorksArticle from Congressional Digest
- Political Identity, Decision-Making and Communication in the Age of Digital Media: A Case Study on the 2016 US ElectionsArticle from Journal of Media Research
- Predicting the Next US Presidentby Simulating the Electoral CollegeArticle from Journal of Humanistic Mathematics
- Reprecincting and Voting BehaviorArticle from Political Behavior
- Voter Turnout and Bureaucrats across Time: A Further Examination of the Bureau Voting Model in the United StatesArticle from Public Administration Quarterly
- Voting Contagion: Modeling and Analysis of a Century of U.S. Presidential ElectionsArticle from PLoS ONE
- What Is the Probability Your Vote Will Make a Difference?Article from Economic Inquiry
- When, Where, and How We Vote: Does it Matter? When, Where, and How We Vote: Does It Matter?Article from Social Science Quarterly (Wiley-Blackwell)
- Why Current Voter ID Laws Are Harmful to American DemocracyArticle from Kennedy School Review
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
| Scholarly Articles | Popular Articles | |
| Examples | Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies | Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair |
| Purpose | In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research | Provide general information for the public |
| Author | Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials | Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content |
| Audience | Scholars, researchers and students | General public |
| Language | Specialized terminology | General vocabulary |
| Images | Few photos & ads | More photos & ads |
| Accountability | Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field | Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists) |
| References | Required | Generally not listed |