Research Guides: Library Workshop-Success Center: Welcome

Accessing Chaffey Library Databases

1. Click on link of online library resource you wish to access. When prompted, login using your MyChaffey ID and password (same as used for wireless access onsite at Chaffey). The click on Login button. The login window will close and you will be directed to the library resource(s) you selected.

2. Haven't used MyChaffey yet? Go to https://my.chaffey.edu.

3. Your MyChaffey ID is first name initial and last name initial in lowercase plus 7-digit Chaffey College ID number (for example, Chaffey Charlie's ID would be cc0323232). Your password is your 6-digit birthdate in MMDDYY format (no spaces, example: 080792) the first time you login.

4. You will then be required to change your password and set up your security/password reset questions once logged into MyChaffey.

OneSearch

Using OneSearch (Video)
Showcases how to navigate OneSearch effectively. Overview of the filters to limit by date, type of resource, as well as accessing full-text and using citation tool also covered.

Using Library Resources Effectively

Click on resource access and login using MyChaffey credentials. See right panel for more detailed login instructions.

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Draws on the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as material from other reference sources including specialized encyclopedias to present social issues. Good resources for selecting a topic as has browsable list of topic gateways on front page.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Series of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on a topic.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.

LibKey

Libkey Nomad Browser Extension
a browser extension for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Brave and Vivaldi browsers. LibKey Nomad connects researchers to library-licensed and open access full text articles referenced on scholarly websites like PubMed, Wikipedia and publisher pages. Watch the Libkey Overview Video.

Sample Topics

Water Pollution
Fast Fashion
Electric Cars
Recycling

Or, pick your own topic!