Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Online Sheet Music & Score Resources
8notes.com: Free Sheet Music and Lessons
8notes.com is run and owned by Red Balloon Technology Ltd, a music and technology company based in St Albans, England. The main focus of the site is sheet music, but they offer a wide range of resources for musicians, from tuners, to chord charts, to lessons.
19th-Century California Sheet Music (University of California, Berkeley)
A virtual library of some 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs. Images are scanned at 400 dpi, in color where indicated.
19th Century American Sheet Music (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
The Nineteenth Century American Sheet Music Collection at the UNC-Chapel Hill Music Library includes approximately 3,500 popular vocal and instrumental titles from the 1830s to the end of the century. This site contains catalog descriptions and digital images of the individual pieces in the collection. The collection was acquired as 125 bound volumes which were individually gathered by the original owners of the music.
African American Sheet Music (Brown University Library)
The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University. The full collection consists of approximately 500,000 items, of which perhaps 250,000 are currently available for use. It is one of the largest collections of sheet music in any library in the United States.
Beethoven Haus, Bonn - Digital Archives
The Digital Archives contain unique music manuscripts, first editions, letters and pictures from the museum's and library's collections of the Beethoven. Contains 6,100 documents on 37,600 colored scans of high quality, 1,600 audio files (music examples, audio letters) and 7,600 text files.
Chopin Collection (University of Chicago Library)
The Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin, maintained in the Special Collections Research Center. Because Chopin's works were often published concurrently in several countries with variant texts, this collection provides scholars the opportunity to establish a sequence of publication by comparing a range of printings.
Choral Net: American Choral Director's Association
ChoralNet is the professional networking site for the global online choral community. The site provides forums, and links to choral organizations, choirs, resources, and the latest news of interest to the choral world. ChoralNet is operated by the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA).
ChoralWiki: Choral Public Domain Library
At ChoralWiki you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information for choral music. CPDL was founded in December 1998, changed to ChoralWiki in August 2005, and incorporated in May 2010 as a U.S.A. 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charitable organization.
The Danish National Digital Sheet Music Archive
The archive contains digital facsimiles of printed and manuscript music. Both manuscripts and printed music have been included: some are published expressly for printing, others are primarily intended for study. Most of the digitized scores can be seached and browsed in REX, while other materials are grouped in special databases, according to subjects.
Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (University of Oxford)
The DIAMM (the Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts. We present images and metadata for thousands of manuscripts on this website. We also provide a home for scholarly resources and editions, undertake digital restoration of damaged manuscripts and documents, publish high-quality facsimiles, and offer our expertise as consultants.
Eastman School of Music (University of Rochester)
Browsing list of music scores from Eastman School of Music Library. Over 22,000 available in downloadable pdf format.
The Hoagy Carmichael Collection (University of Indiana)
This multimedia web site is part of an 18-month project to catalog, digitize, and preserve every item in Indiana University's extensive collections pertaining to the life and career of master songwriter Hoagland "Hoagy" Carmichael (1899-1981). The Hoagy Carmichael Collection contains sound recordings of Hoagy's music, letters, photographs of him and his family, print and handwritten musical compositions, and more. This web site is a joint effort of the Indiana University Digital Library Program and the Archives of Traditional Music.
International Music Score Library Project
IMSLP stands for the International Music Score Library Project and was started in 2006. The logo, a capital letter A, was taken from the beginning of the very first printed book of music, the Harmonice Musices Odhecaton, the library's namesake. The IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library is currently owned and run by Project Petrucci LLC, a company created to run the site.
The Internet Archive: Musical Theater Scores
This is a search for musical scores at University of Illinois, through the Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit. The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
Kreusch Sheet Music
Original site in German: [use translation tool to translate to English] Browse through an archive of hundreds of free scores. Use the search function on the left of the screen to search for composers or works. This site provides materials freely, and is based on the principle that classical music should be a publicly accessible cultural asset and should not be an object of commercial interest to music publishers.
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music consists of over 29,000 pieces of American popular music. This music was donated to The Johns Hopkins University by Lester S. Levy over a period of years starting in 1976, and is now housed in the Special Collections Division of the Milton S. Eisenhower Library. The collection spans the years 1780 to 1980, but its strength is its thorough documentation of nineteenth-century America through popular music.
Library of Congress: American Memory Migrated Collections
A list of collections from the LC American Memory. The list contains single collections which can be accessed through the links. The collections including some digitized sheet music collections.
Library of Congress: America Singing: Nineteenth-Century Song Sheets
Collection contains 4291 song sheets. Included among these American songs are ninety-seven British song sheets from Dublin and London. The collection spans the period from the turn of the nineteenth century to the 1880s, although a majority of the song sheets were published during the height of the craze, from the 1850s to the 1870s. The collection is held by the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress.
Library of Congress: Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, ca. 1870 to 1885
Consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885. Included in the collection are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
Library of Congress: Music Treasures Consortium
The Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of many libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions. The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most well known music manuscripts and print materials, held at music archives, to further research and scholarship. The Library of Congress is hosting the consortium Web site which gives bibliographic information on each item, while access to the item is through the holding institution.
Los Angeles Public Library Song Index
Search for songs in books owned by LAPL. Contains collection of songs held by Los Angeles Public Library.
The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain. 2117 pieces of music – free to download, modify, print, copy, distribute, perform, and record – all in the Public Domain or under Creative Commons licenses, in PDF, MIDI, and editable LilyPond file formats.
NMA Online: Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: Digitized Version
The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use.
Sheet Music Consortium (UCLA)
This site provides access to 35 collections that have been harvested for the Sheet Music Consortium. These collections represent universities and government organizations from the US, UK and Australia. In 2007, the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) awarded a planning grant to UCLA and Indiana University from their National Leadership grant program for the development of the Next Generation Sheet Music Consortium (SMC). In 2009, the IMLS awarded these institutions a National Leadership Grant for the creation of the SMC. For more information about how to use the Sheet Music Consortium, see the research guide created by UCLA: https://guides.library.ucla.edu/sheetmusicconsortium
UCLA: Archive of Popular America Music
UCLA’s Archive of Popular American Music is a research collection covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present. This site provides access to digital versions of the sheet music and performances of the songs now in the public domain.
VARIATIONS Prototype: Online Musical Scores (University of Indiana)
The following selections lead to experimental prototypes of the ways in which musical scores and recording liner notes might be used in conjunction with sound recordings available online through VARIATIONS. We encourage interested users to send comments on usability to firstname.lastname@example.org to help us in our ongoing development of the project.
Virtual Music Rare Book Room (University of North Texas)
The UNT Music Library's Virtual Music Rare Book Room contains primarily digitized materials held in the Edna Mae Sandborn Music Rare Book Room. The collection is particularly strong in eighteenth-century French opera, due in large part to the influence of musicologist Lloyd Hibberd on the development of the collection.
Virtual Sheet Music Downloads
Note: this site may require payment for downloads. Classical Sheet Music Downloads® plus Traditional Music, Jazz, and More
Exclusive, pure digital sheet music with audio files to download and print instantly
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities