Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Library Databases & Specific Resources
Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
Films On Demand
Includes access to over 25,000 videos in a wide variety of disciplines.
Historical, Political, Social Movements/Events
Series of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
Searchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text including the St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture and American Decades.
Why Use Books, eBooks?
Books and ebooks are a good source for background and history on a topic: the who, what, where when and why. They are geared for non-experts, so they're a great place to start the research process.
Find Print Books, Chaffey Library
Need more information about an artist, period, culture or country, medium or art movement? Try our local Chaffey Library collection of print books as we have an excellent collection of art history titles! Remember to check that status of the book is available and make a note of the call number, the book's "address" on our shelves. Can't find a given book? Contact us or come see us at one of our service desk and we'll be happy to help.
Strategies for Finding Relevant Resources
Having trouble finding resources on your chosen artwork or artist? Try the following:
- Search for other works done by the artist.
- Search for information on the movement(s) or categories under which work/artist classified.
- Search for similar works and artists from the same movement(s)/categories.
- Look for background on the issues, concerns and beliefs of the contemporary era to which the artist/artwork connected..
Still struggling to locate relevant resources? Contact a librarian and we'll be happy to help!
YouTube Search & Vimeo Link
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities