Research Guides: Research with Library Resources (Eng 68- Mythology): YOU GOT THIS!!

I am honored to have been your librarian! I hope the information in this module has helped. I hope to "see" you around sometime... good luck with all your studies!

Confetti emoji Great job!

Now give it a try yourself! Remember, research is a cycle- you won't find the perfect article on the first try. Search, and then search again!

Remember: YOU GOT THIS!!

The best databases for sources on Mythology are:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Access to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors. Excellent for critiques on contemporary authors. Most useful for contemporary U.S. authors. There's a great timeline useful for assignments outside of the English/Literature field as well. Watch the How to Use Literary Reference Center Plus video.

What can a Librarian help with?

Finding the best keywords
Figuring out how to use a database
Tips and tricks for using Google like a PRO!
Figuring out how and where to start researching
Evaluating websites, articles, books, etc.
Finding scholarly sources
A friendly ear to bounce ideas off of

I am looking forward to hearing from you with any questions, comments, or feedback you may have! There is also a team of amazing librarians just waiting to help you. Feel free to connect with them during the library's online open hours:

Contact a Librarian

library@chaffey.edu video chat icon Virtual Reference Desk (Cranium Cafe)

We also have a 24/7 chat option! Feel free to use this to talk with a group of librarians from around the world: