2018 - Updated articles to the "Phil 70 Reader." Includes previous "Invitation to Philosophy" materials, plus edited articles & materials from "The Big Questions," other articles, and important material for the 3 outlines and one research essay. Includes print copies of all the Lectures.
Covers all requirements for the Phil 70 course. Gives specific percentages and points/percentages for each requirement. Includes Chaffey College resources, texts, daily and weekly assignments, & schedule of class activities with due dates.
Edited Syllabus dates and assignments from 3/3/2020 - 4/9/2020 - gives all assignments including changes in detail. (Return to regular Phil 70 Syllabus after 4/9/2020).
Reading and Studying Philosophy - a Study Method
Discusses how to engage philosophy and gives the "SQ3R" Study Method and how to use study skills to understand and learn academic concepts like philosophy. Gives info. on important workshops in Success Centers for a variety of study skills and strategies for success in academic courses.
Outlines and summarizes major topics and concepts needed for the Exam I. Gives all Questions for the 4 Q&As homework assignments for Exam I + short-answer questions and essay for Exam I. May be downloaded and homework questions answered right on the document.
Phil 70 Exam I Review - edited 2-19-2020-PDF
Covers all Q&As homework assignments and requirements for the Exam I. (See above description). [PDF documents are best used for reading, highlighting and studying, not for typing answers into the document].
Outlines and summarizes major topics & questions for Final Exam. Includes required sections from Exam I and Exam II Reviews. Gives all questions for the 4 sets of Q&As needed. Includes Short-Answer questions and Essay requirements.
Success Centers Workshops, LGs, & DLAs
Requirements for Success Centers workshops, Learning Groups, and Directed Learning Activities. (Rancho and at Chino and Fontana campuses). Covers required and recommended workshops, LGs and DLAs. Sign up online for Success Center apptmts., or call desired Success Center.
Phil 70 - Essays - Directions
Chicago Style - Guides for Research Papers
Guidelines for footnotes and bibliography using the Chicago Manual of Style format for research papers. Includes a comparison with similarities and differences with the MLA and APA research documentation methods. Phil 70 uses the Chicago method.
Guidelines for writing an essay on one's position on epistemology considered to be the best position, developing 3 major arguments each for two opposing positions. Includes research requirements for the paper. Includes List of Major Epistemological Arguments by Lecturer Position.
Please be advised that to use electronic material, you must agree to the following: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research. If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of fair use that user may be liable for copyright infringement.