Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
A Complete Guide to the MLA Annotated Bibliography
This annotated bibliography guide is here to help answer all of your questions and includes step-by-step instructions on how to do an annotated bibliography in MLA style or an APA annotated bibliography.
Annotated Bibliography Templates
You can download APA and MLA annotated bibliography templates from this website. Please make sure to delete the university name from the template before using it.
Annotated Bibliography Samples
This Purdue University website includes sample annotations from annotated bibliographies, each with a different research project. The annotations you include in your own bibliography should reflect your research project and/or the guidelines of your assignment.
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
A Bibliography is a list of citations for your sources (books, journals, websites, periodicals, etc.It's like a Works Cited page at the end of a paper -- listing your source's author, title, publisher, etc.).
An Annotation is a paragraph that goes underneath each citation. It usually includes a short summary of the source, an evaluation of the source's credibility, and an assessment of how you're going to use the source (or not) in your research paper. (See below for more information).
What is the purpose of an Annotated Bibliography?
To evaluate sources:
The Internet and the library both contain information on virtually any topic, but it’s important to make sure that you use credible, current sources. Inaccurate, questionable, or out-of-date sources can undermine your ideas and cause your reader to question your knowledge on your topic. Relevant and informed sources can help you to support and prove your thesis and persuade your audience, so evaluating and selecting sources carefully is an important part of writing a strong, convincing paper.
To learn about your topic:
Writing an annotated bibliography is excellent preparation for a research project. Just collecting sources for a bibliography is useful, but when you have to write annotations for each source, you're reading each source more carefully. You begin to read more critically instead of just collecting information.
To help you formulate a thesis:
Every good research paper is an argument. The purpose of research is to state and support a thesis. So a very important part of research is developing a thesis that is debatable, interesting, and current. Writing an annotated bibliography can help you gain a good perspective on what is being said about your topic. By reading and responding to a variety of sources on a topic, you'll start to see what the issues are, what people are arguing about, and you'll then be able to develop your own point of view.
How to Write an Annotated Bibliography
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities