Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Background Information on a Topic
Books, encyclopedias and reports are a great place to start your research because:
- They're a good source for background and a quick history on a topic: the who, what, where, when and why!
- They can also help narrow down a broad topic and find smaller issues within a topic.
- They've gone through a review as part of the publishing process, so the burden of evaluating for credibility does not rest as heavily on your shoulders!
Some recommended library resources for background information:
Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
Series of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
Searchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
Current Information on a Topic
Articles from published resources such as newspapers, magazines and journals are a great place to find current information on a topic and subtopics to supplement background information. Hint: Try doing several mini searches on your various subtopics rather than one large search on a broad topic to avoid large results sets (Example: Instead of pollution, try smaller subtopics like deforestation or plastic waste.)
Some recommended library resources for current information:
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines.
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data.
Newspapers - US Major Dailies
Full-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
See our full A-Z list for more discipline-specific article resources (business, communication, psychology and more)!
Fact, Value, Policy, or Bust?
Fact, Value, Policy, or Bust?
Examine each statement to determine whether it is an appropriate working thesis for a
FACT CLAIM, a VALUE CLAIM, a POLICY CLAIM, or none.
Library Hours & Contact
Chaffey College Library Holiday Closures:
Spring 2021 (January 11 - May 12)
Friday, February 12, 2021, Lincoln Holiday
Monday, February 15, 2021, Washington Holiday
Monday-Sunday, March 15-21, 2021, Spring Break (Library Closed)
Tuesday, April 20, 2021, Faculty Lecture (Librarians not available)
See the Chaffey College Academic Calendar for additional information
ASK A LIBRARIAN
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities