Research with Library Resources (Vidales ENG 1C Intro to Literature)

Step 1- Develop your topic

• Review your assignment instructions: What kind of assignment/essay is it? Do you need to take a stance? Make an argument? Provide facts or data?
• Will you need library sources? What kind?
• Use the Picking a Topic tutorial to help you narrow down your ideas and find keywords.
• Use Opposing Viewpoints to browse topics and get ideas.
• Watch the Developing a Research Topic video

Step 2- Select Keywords

• Identify the main concepts in your thesis/research question
• Write down synonyms, phrases, or other words that might be helpful on the Research Log organizer
• Use the Picking a Topic tutorial to help you find keywords and develop a search strategy.
• Watch this video on finding the perfect source
• For example:

Step 3- Search the Library's Resources

• Start with OneSearch, the library's discovery search
• Use the library database guide to figure out which databases to use to continue your search
• Learn how to use the databases in the Using Library Databases tutorial
• Watch the Accessing Library Databases video to connect to the library's online resources
• Try different searches with different keywords; this will help you find lots of different kinds of results
• Keep track of your research using the Research Log organizer

Step 4- Evaluate Results

• Use the Evaluating Sources slides to help you decide if a website or other source is trustworthy
• Use the Finding and Evaluating Scholarly Sources tutorial to learn about finding scholarly articles
• Watch the Research Using Chaffey Databases video to learn about evaluating the sources in library databases
• Narrow down your results by using the limiters on the left side:

Step 5- Search Again!

• Research is about searching, evaluating your results, and then searching again, over and over
• Try different databases and different keywords in different combinations
• Keep track of what keywords are most helpful
• Keep track of what databases are most helpful
• Don't give up!! If you are feeling like there are no sources in the library's databases for you, contact a librarian

Do you need to cite your sources?

• A Works Cited or Reference page list your sources and citations.
• Use the Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism tutorial to learn more about plagiarism and citing your sources
• Watch this How to Avoid Plagiarim video to learn more

What can a Librarian help with?

• Finding the best keywords
• Figuring out how to use a database
• Tips and tricks for using Google like a PRO!
• Figuring out how and where to start researching
• Evaluating websites, articles, books, etc.
• Finding scholarly sources
• A friendly ear to bounce ideas off of

Icons made by ultimatearm from www.flaticon.com

Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com

Icons made by Eucalyp from www.flaticon.com