Home - Chaffey College Library Happenings - Summer 2022 - Research Guides at Chaffey College

Did You Know

Students can chat 24 hours, 7 days a week with an expert librarian and get research help.

Meet Us!

Meet Teresa Lupe! Teresa Lupe is a Chaffey College adjunct librarian. She holds a Master of Library & Information Science from UCLA. She has worked as a librarian at Los Angeles Trade-Technical College, as a long-term adjunct librarian at California State University, Los Angeles (CSULA), and she has worked in Europe as the Library Director at Anatolia College in Thessaloniki, Greece. As a librarian, Teresa Lupe continues her life-long commitment to increasing equity in education. She loves listening to and working respectfully with diverse students to increase empowerment and credible information-seeking and critical thinking skills for success. Teresa Lupe enjoys Godzilla films, belly dancing and chocolate! Connect with Teresa Lupe

Faculty Support

Faculty can use the following library research support to assist their students:

Embed a Chaffey Librarian in their Canvas courses!
Assign Library Research Tutorials for extra credit or low stake points!
Request a live library instruction session library instruction session for students who are interested and able to attend.

For more faculty support, visit our Faculty Support page or email us at library@chaffey.edu

What's Happening!

We are excited to share with you what's new at the library.

The Chaffey College Library at the Rancho campus is open for Summer on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays from 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm starting June 6th! Learn more about in-person services and online research support by visiting our library website.
Library Guides to look for this summer:
- Juneteenth Library Guide - Honor and learn more about National Freedom Day.
- LGBTQIA+ Pride Library Guide - Celebrate and learn more about Pride's month.
Library Workshops are here! Learn how to use databases, evaluate web resources, and more. Register or do a virtual walk-in!
- Library Research
  - Mon., 6/13 at 10:30 am; Tue., 6/21 at 12:30 pm; Sat., 7/23 at 11:30 am
- Finding & Evaluating Scholarly Sources
  - Wed., 6/29 at 1:30 pm; Sat., 7/16 at 11:30 am
- Website Evaluation
  - Tue., 6/14 at 2:30 pm; Tue., 6/28 at 2:30 pm; Thurs., 7/7 at 3:30 pm; Mon., 7/25 at 12:30 pm

Research Spotlight

Using Opposing Viewpoints database effectively!

Opposing Viewpoints database draws on the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as material from other reference sources including specialized encyclopedias to present social issues. Great place to check for topics for research papers. Most useful for selecting a topic, position papers, statistics and background reference material. Watch the Opposing Viewpoints database video to learn how to use it.

Using Academic Search Complete database effectively!

Academic Search Complete database: Access full-text articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.

Using JSTOR database effectively!

JSTOR database provides access to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields such as ethnic studies, social sciences, art, business, economics, history, sciences, math, area studies, and language and literature. Watch the JSTOR database video to learn how to use it.