This is a JavaScript menu. Please enable scripts in your browser. Skip to Main Content
Chaffey College Library Chaffey College Home Chaffey College Library Home My Library Account

OneSearch @ Chaffey College Library

OneSearch tutorial video

Finding Books

Here at Chaffey, you have access to over 90,000 print books at our Libraries and full-text access to over 200,000 ebooks online!

Locating Print Books- When viewing the search results list, an item's status is shown in green text. An item's location is shown in blue text. In the example below, the book "Paula" is shown as Available at Chaffey College Rancho in the General Collection. The item's call number is 863. A43. Click on the title or image of a book in the results page to view more information. 

onesearch screenshot

  • Location- Books can be located at our Chino, Fontana or Rancho locations. Reserve items can only be used and returned at item's home location.
  • Status- If the status is listed as Available, the item should be on our shelves. Other statuses such as Checked Out or Lost indicate that the item is not available at the moment.
  • Call Number- Be sure to note the item's call number, as it is needed to find the item in the library. Reserve items are available at the front desk.

 Chaffey ID required for check-out of books and use of Reserve items.

E-books

To access an e-book, click on the title or the Available Online link.

ebook display screenshot

Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.

link to an ebook screenshot

Finding Textbooks

Textbooks can be purchased at the Campus Store. Visit the Campus Store website to find information on their open hours. Watch this video to see a tutorial on how to search the Campus Store website for your textbooks. Once you have the title, author, and year of the textbook you need, you can search the library's books via OneSearch to see if you can access the book for free through our collection.

You may look for your class textbook in OneSearch or contact the Circulation staff for assistance and further instructions on how to borrow a textbook. Watch this video for a demonstration of how to find a textbook. Below is a pdf handout with instructions on finding a textbook in the library:

Finding Articles

OneSearch is a great way to quickly see what kinds of articles the library has on your topic. It's almost like Google for the library- a bunch of different things we have in one big list!

Search tips:

  • Use the filters on the left side to narrow down your results.
    screenshot showing limiters on the left side of the search results page
  • To find only peer-reviewed academic journal articles, use the "Peer-reviewed Journals" limiter
  • To find only a certain type of resource (books, videos, articles, etc.) use the "Resource Type" limiter
  • To find only physical items in the library, use the "Held by library" limiter
  • To find only items available online, use the"Available Online" limiter
  • Try lots of different searches. For example, if you're looking for articles about race and healthcare, try "Race AND Healthcare" for your first search, then try "Healthcare disparities AND Race" for your next search, then try "Racism in health" for your next search, etc...

Can't Find What You Need?

OneSearch includes all items in the library catalog (i.e. books and ebooks), however not all databases are included. This means that some subject-specific databases or journals may not be searchable via OneSearch. Try searching in the library's databases directly to find more results!

We need your help! Fill out the survey to tell us what you think:

Permalinks

A permalink is a permanent link to a record or item in the library's collections. This link is stable- it will always lead you back to the right page!

To find the permalink for an item in OneSearch, click the chainlink icon:

screenshot of permalink icon

Screenshot of the permalink icon in the search results page

Sharing and Saving items

Sharing a link to your search results

Want to save your entire search? Use the QR code link in the upper right corner

screenshot of QR code link in upper right corner of search results pageScreen shot of QR code generated after clicking link

Use your phone to scan the QR code generated, or copy the link to save your entire search.

Favorites

You can save items to a "Favorites" list that you can access anytime! First, be sure to sign in using the "Sign In" button in the top right corner:

Screen shot of Sign in link in top right corner

Save items by clicking the push pin button anywhere you see it

pushpin icon

View all your favorites by clicking the pushpin in the top right corner

Screen shot of my favorites page

Email an item

You can also email an item by using the email button anywhere you see it

Email icon

 

Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
 Powered by Springshare • LibApps LoginFeedbackBI SurveyLibrary Activities