Israel, Palestine, and the Quest for Middle East Peace by
After the U.S-led invasion of Afghanistan and Iraq, Pakistan's then President Pervez Musharraf declared: "The Palestinian front is affecting the entire Muslim world. All terrorists and militant activity in the world today has been initiated because of the Palestinian problem. This is because of the sense of hopelessness, alienation, and powerlessness." The decade following the aftermath of September 11th has only proven that a comprehensive peace settlement in the Middle East and a resolve to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict are a crucial necessity to global stability. In this well-researched and thoroughly-documented work, Professor Dennis J. Deeb II objectively aims to provide both a historical narrative of the events surrounding the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and a historiography exploring the failures to achieve the end result of a final settlement between the Israelis and the Palestinians. What went wrong with peace? This book explores the issues of contention that must be resolved between the parties to reach a lasting settlement. ween the parties to reach a lasting settlement. ween the parties to reach a lasting settlement. ween the parties to reach a lasting settlement.
Remembering Palestine in 1948 by
The war of 1948 in Palestine is a conflict whose history has been written primarily from the national point of view. This book asks what happens when narratives of war arise out of personal stories of those who were involved, stories that are still unfolding. Efrat Ben-Ze'ev examines the memories of those who participated and were affected by the events of 1948, and how these events have been mythologized over time. This is a three-way conversation between Palestinian villagers, Jewish-Israeli veterans, and British policemen who were stationed in Palestine on the eve of the war. Each has his or her story to tell. These small-scale truths shed new light on the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, as it was then and as it has become.
Israel/Palestine by
Since the early 1990s, Israel has greatly expanded a system checkpoints, walls and other barriers in the West Bank and Gaza that restrict Palestinian movement. Israel/Palestine examines how authors and filmmakers have grappled with the spread of these borders. Focusing on the works of Elia Suleiman, Raba'i al-Madhoun, Ghassan Kanafani, Sami Michael and Sayed Kashua, it traces how political engagement in literature and film has shifted away from previously common paradigms of resistance and coexistence and has become reorganised around these now ubiquitous physical barriers. Depictions of these borders interrogate the notion that such spaces are impenetrable and unbreakable, imagine distinct forms of protest, and redefine the relationship between cultural production and political engagement.
Books are a good place to start your research because:
Encyclopedia of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict by
This authoritative three-volume reference, the product of five years of work by an international team of experts, offers comprehensive, even-handed coverage of the history, issues, actors, events, institutions, and policies related to the ongoing Israeli-Palestinian conflict. More than 900 entries, enhanced by extensive cross-referencing, cover virtually every aspect of the subject. The encyclopedia also includes maps, bibliographic references, a glossary, a chronology, and a detailed index. Members of the project's Advisory Board include: As'ad AbuKhalil (California State University, Stanislaus); Khalil Barhoum (Stanford University); Yoram Meital (Ben-Gurion University); Fouad Moughrabi (University of Tennessee); Augustus Richard Norton (Boston University); and Stephen Zunes (University of San Francisco).
Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict by
Competing Jewish and Arab national claims over the Holy Land form the core of the Arab-Israeli conflict, thereby transforming it into the most intensely-fought struggles in the history of humanity. The conflict evokes unparalleled passion and hostility not only among its immediate participants and neighbors but also in the wider international community. The involvement of three principal monotheistic religions makes the conflict a truly universal contestation. As a result, it often contributes to bouts of violence, turmoil and terrorism in the Middle East and beyond. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict covers the history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 600 cross-referenced entries important events, key personalities, official positions of principal states and the UN and other efforts to find a peaceful settlement.. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about this conflict.
