Research Guides: Israeli-Palestinian Conflict: Citing Your Sources

Works Cited Generators on the Web

CiteThis
Ad-Free Citation generator.
KniteCite Service

Why is it Important to Cite Your Sources for Your Research Papers?

Citing sources and creating a Bibliography/Works Cited List:

Gives credit to the author(s)

Illustrates your ability to locate & evaluate appropriate sources

Provides evidence for the arguments and conclusions in your paper

Prevents plagarism and copyright infringement

What Is Plagiarism?

pla·gia·rism (noun)

The practice of taking someone else's work or ideas and passing them off as one's own.
Synonyms - copying, infringement of copyright, piracy, theft, stealing. Informal - cribbing "accusations of plagiarism." Source: Google Definition

Plagiarism can be intentional or unintentional.

Citation Styles

What is MLA Style?

MLA (Modern Language Association) style specifies guidelines for formatting papers. MLA style also provides a system for referencing sources through parenthetical citations in essays and Works Cited pages.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
The go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources in MLA format. Watch the How to use MLA Handbook video and guide
MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the second edition of the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment.

MLA Handbook 9th Edition "MLA Handbook 9th Edition Simplified: Concise Guide to the MLA 9th Edition Handbook" is specifically designed for students and professional writers to quickly learn updated MLA Style in a convenient and easy way. With this guide, you will be able to format your paper according to the MLA style right away thanks to its easy-to-navigate structure and step-by-step guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format. MLA Handbook Ninth Edition Simplified offers general guidelines and multiple examples that allow writers: -to cite any type of work; -to format title pages, running head, headings, lists, etc.; -to learn more about in-text citations, quoting, paraphrasing; -to create Works Cited list in MLA format; -to use footnotes and endnotes; -to format tables, figures, and examples, etc. Includes MLA-formatted Sample Paper. Learn more about spelling, punctuation, capitalization, italics, abbreviations, numbers, etc.
Call Number: 808.02 G43
ISBN: 9781471718892
Publication Date: 2022-04-23

MLA Style Documentation MLA Style Documentation
MLA Sample Paper MLA Sample Paper

Success Centers-Chaffey College
Need more help? Contact the Success Centers for tutors and workshops on citing your sources.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide From Owl Purdue University Writing Lab
Helps you better understand how to cite sources using MLA Style, including the list of works cited and in-text citations.

What is APA Style?

APA format is the official style of the American Psychological Association (APA) and is commonly used to cite sources in psychology, education, and the social sciences. Most importantly, the use of APA style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other authors.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: 808.06 A51
ISBN: 9781433832178
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
1 print copy to check out at Rancho
1 print copy (library use only) at Rancho
1 print copy (library use only) at Chino
1 print copy (library use only) at Fontana

Chaffey College Success Centers
Need more help? Contact the Success Centers for tutors and workshops on citing sources.
OWL at Purdue University Writing Lab - APA Formatting and Style Guide
Overview of APA (American Psychological Association) style and where to find information with different APA resources.

What is Chicago Style?

The Chicago Manual of Style sets the standard for scholarly publishing in the Humanities. Chicago offers two citation formats, the author-date reference format and the standard bibliographic format, each of which provides conventions for organizing footnotes or endnotes, as well as bibliographic citations. Most importantly, the use of the Chicago style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other authors.

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: 808.06 U58 c.2
Publication Date: 2017

Chicago Style Documentation & Sample Paper Chicago Style Documentation & Sample Paper

Chaffey College Success Centers
Need more help? Contact the Success Centers for tutors and workshops on citing sources.
OWL at Purdue University Writing Lab - Chicago Formatting and Style Guide
Information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation.

Avoid Plagiarism by Citing Sources

Bainbridge State College. "Plagiarism: How to Avoid It." YouTube. YouTube, 5 Jan. 2010. Web. 19 Oct. 2014.

A transcript is in process for this video. If you need assistance, please contact the Reference Librarian at library@chaffey.edu.

Citations Galore!

https://blog.writersdomain.net/2014/06/17/this-aint-your-high-school-english-class-why-plagiarism-is-a-big-deal/

Consequences of Plagiarism Here at Chaffey

The School Dean may impose the following sanctions after meeting with the student:

verbal warning or written reprimand
failing grade for an assignment
failing grade in the course
removal from class
restitution