Research Guides: Searching Databases at Chaffey College: MLA Handbook

MLA Handbook Plus

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
The go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources in MLA format. Watch the How to use MLA Handbook video and guide
MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the second edition of the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment.

How to use MLA Handbook Plus

Video Introduction to MLA Handbook Plus

Finding Citation Examples

How to use MLA Handbook Plus

Features

MLA Handbook Plus is the only authorized digital resource featuring the MLA Handbook! It features the same content as the print edition, plus seamless annual updates and additional resources such as videos and companion titles. This resource features an easy-to-search interface, cross-linking of related material, and a split view that lets students see illustrations while reading corresponding content. MLA Handbook Plus meets WCAG 2.1 accessibility standards, ensuring that learning MLA style is available to all.

Also includes these titles:

MLA Style 101 Course

MLA Style 101
New to the MLA Handbook? Make learning the fundamentals of MLA style easy with our instructional video courses, available to all MLA Handbook Plus subscribers.

Each course covers a key area, like works-cited-list entries, in-text citations, and quoting and paraphrasing.
Courses are divided into short mini-lessons to guide students step-by-step through core concepts.
“You Do” exercises periodically ask students to reflect on what they’ve learned and answer questions along the way.
Students are prompted to take a short quiz at the end of each lesson to reinforce what they have learned.
At the end of each course, students can test their knowledge with a final quiz. Then, they can use the handbook as a reference guide while writing papers with ease and confidence!