Searching Library Databases
- Articles & Database A-Z ListList of all the library databases containing articles on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7, just login with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.
Researching using Academic Search Complete
Database Search Tips
- Use Keywords when searching the databases
- Too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as Health
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group type, such as Childhood Obesity
- Including a location, such as California
- Change the date range to the last few years, so the information is current
Scholarly & Popular Sources video
Carnegie Vincent Library. "Scholarly and Popular Sources." YouTube. YouTube, 22 Mar. 2013. Web. 22 Oct. 2014.
A transcript is in the process of being created for this video. If you need assistance, please contact the Reference Librarian at library@chaffey.edu.
Most Popular Article Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowExtensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
| Scholarly Articles | Popular Articles | |
| Examples | Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies | Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair |
| Purpose | In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research | Provide general information for the public |
| Author | Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials | Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content |
| Audience | Scholars, researchers and students | General public |
| Language | Specialized terminology | General vocabulary |
| Images | Few photos & ads | More photos & ads |
| Accountability | Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field | Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists) |
| References | Required | Generally not listed |
Accessing Chaffey Library Databases
1. Click on link of online library resource you wish to access. When prompted, login using your MyChaffey ID and password (same as used for wireless access onsite at Chaffey). The click on Login button. The login window will close and you will be directed to the library resource(s) you selected.
2. Haven't used MyChaffey yet? Go to https://my.chaffey.edu.
3. Your MyChaffey ID is first name initial and last name initial in lowercase plus 7-digit Chaffey College ID number (for example, Chaffey Charlie's ID would be cc0323232). Your password is your 6-digit birthdate in MMDDYY format (no spaces, example: 080792) the first time you login.
4. You will then be required to change your password and set up your security/password reset questions once logged into MyChaffey.
