This is a JavaScript menu. Please enable scripts in your browser.

Contact us

Books at the Chaffey College Library

Have a question? Contact us at:

Rancho Cucamonga: (909) 652-6800      

Chino: (909) 652-8115

Fontana: (909) 652-7450

Email: Circulation.Staff@chaffey.edu

Your Chaffey ID card is your library card!

Your Chaffey ID can be used to check out library materials:

  • Books
  • Reserve Textbooks
  • Audiovisual Materials
  • Group Study Rooms (6-8 people)
  • Magazines and Journals
  • Flashdrives (in library use only)
  • Headphones (in library use only)
  • Headphones with Microphone (in library use only)
  • Noise Cancelation Headphones (in library use only)
  • SD Cards (in library use only)

Books, magazines and journals can be sent to any of our campuses.

LIBRARY CARDS & CHECKING-OUT MATERIALS

Checkout Policies:

  • In order to utilize the library circulation services you must have your Student ID card with you and be currently enrolled in at least one credit course.
  • Circulation does not accept broken, chipped or faded IDs.  Pictures must be clear and visible.
  • Only you can use your library card to check out library materials. Allowances may be made for professors and students/staff with long term disability or illness.

Replacement ID cards can be purchased for $8 at Admissions & Records.

The Library will be offering check-out and pick up services for books from the General Collection at the Rancho Cucamonga campus only. At this time, no equipment and/or textbooks may be checked out.

Watch this how-to video on how to request books!

To borrow a book, go to the library’s homepage at chaffey.edu/library.

Search for a book using OneSearch. Books that say they are “Available Online” are ebooks and can be accessed from your computer. To find a physical book at the library, you can use the filters at the left to narrow your results to “books” Or use the Library filter to narrow your results to Chaffey College Rancho.

Once you’ve found an item that says it is available at the Chaffey College Rancho General Collection, click on it to request. Items from other locations or collections are not available at this time.

Click Sign In. Use your MyChaffey login information. Click Request, then Click Send Request. You’ve now placed a request!

To view your account and any requests you have made, click your name in the upper right hand corner. Check your Chaffey Panther email for a notification that your books are ready and to arrange pick up.

Once your books are ready, come to the Rancho Campus Library during the assigned pick-up times. Please bring your ID and wear a mask.

To renew your books, you may bring your items to the Circulation Desk with your Chaffey ID. You can also renew online from OneSearch. Overnight reserve books must be returned and renewed at their home location.

  • Books cannot be renewed over the phone.
  • Overdue materials cannot be renewed; renewals must be made before the due date.
  • There is no limit on renewals, but all materials must be returned by the end of the semester.
  • Books with holds placed on them and textbooks on reserve cannot be renewed online.
  • For instruction on renewals, please see instructions below:

TEXTBOOKS & RESERVES

Note: Due to COVID restrictions, Textbooks and Reserves are not available for check-out at this time.

Textbooks can be purchased at the Campus Store. Visit the Campus Store website to find information on their open hours. Watch this video to see a tutorial on how to search the Campus Store website for your textbooks. Once you have the title, author, and year of the textbook you need, you can search the library's books via OneSearch to see if you can access the book for free through our collection.

Due to COVID restrictions, library textbooks are not available at this time.

LOAN PERIODS & CHECKOUT LIMITS

Note: Due to COVID restrictions, only the General Collection is available for check-out at this time.

Collection or Media Type Loan Period Fines
General Collection 2 weeks, 30 item max, renewable .25 per day
Textbooks and Reserves 1 hour, 2 item max, no renewals $10 per hour
Overnight Textbooks Overnight, no renewals $10 per day
Magazines/Journals 1 week .25 per day

Calculators

Overnight  
Videos In-library use only for the length of the video N/A
Camcorders & Tripods 3 days $10 per day
Reference Books In-library use only N/A
Headphones, flash drives, SD Card Readers In-library use only N/A

 

Note: Due to COVID restrictions, Fines will not be accrued at this time. However, late items may result in a block to your account.

Pay your fine in person at the circulation desk with cash only.

Failure to pay your fines will result in your account being blocked, at which point, you will be unable to register for classes.

 

*Payment with checks are only accepted under the following conditions:

  • Fine is over $10
  • Fine is less than 1 year old
  • Check has fine holder's current address
  • Check holder has a government issued photo ID present

RETURNING MATERIALS

You can return library materials at any of our campuses at the Circulation Desk. Rancho Cucamonga also has a book drop located in the north-east corner of parking lot #2, next to the library to return materials when the library is closed.

COMMUNITY USERS

You are welcome to utilize books and other print resources within our library. Unfortunately, we are unable to provide full privileges including, but not limited to, item checkouts, computer use, database use, and group study room use.

Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
 Powered by Springshare • LibApps LoginFeedbackBI SurveyLibrary Activities