Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Databases at Chaffey College
A-Z Database List
An A-Z list of all of the databases at the Chaffey College Library.
Why Use Academic Journals?
Journal articles are considered a very reliable resource for information on a topic and instructors will expect you to rely more on journal articles as you move along in your college career.
Here are some reasons why.
- Articles are usually written by scientists, researchers or subject specialists reporting the results of an experiment, survey, or research project
- Articles usually have a bibliography at the end -a good place to locate more resources on your topic!
- Articles usually include charts, statistics or surveys - "hard data"
In magazines and newspapers:
- Articles are usually written by journalists, not necessarily subject specialists
- Articles rarely have bibliographies
- Articles may have great photos but not usually anything considered "hard data"
Accessing Databases at Chaffey College (video)
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
These are some common rules of most databases:
- Use quotation marks to group phrases = "gold rush"
- The most common wildcard/truncation symbols are * and ? = wom*n will find woman, women, and womyn
- Most databases use AND as a default connector (Boolean) between your keywords ="binge drinking" college will look for both keywords
- Capitalize Boolean terms = peanut butter AND honey
- Use parentheses to group complicated search requests = "peanut butter" AND (jelly OR honey)
Studying your search results is a great way of finding more relevant keywords, removing irrelevant terms, and looking for additional resources in article bibliographies. You can also follow author names to see if they have written more on this subject and what authors they have cited.
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities