Research Guides: Israeli-Palestinian Conflict: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides country-specific information on each of the countries of the world in the areas of geography, news, politics, economics and culture.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Series of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 25,000 videos in a wide variety of disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.

Subject Journal Titles

International Affairs
Original articles in international politics, economics, security and other fields published by the Royal Institute of International Affairs, extensive numbers of book reviews and lists of recently published books.
Israel Affairs
Diplomacy & International Relations of Israel and articles on Israeli History
Israel Studies
Israel Studies presents multidisciplinary scholarship on Israeli history, politics, society and culture.
Israel Studies Forum
Peer-reviewed coverage of all aspects of Israeli society, history, politics and culture.
Palestine Exploration Quarterly
Concerned not just with Palestine/the land of Israel, but with the wider region of the Levant - its history, archaeology (including biblical aspects), art, languages, natural & earth ethnology, geography, natural & earth sciences.
Palestine-Israel Journal of Politics, Economics & Culture
Provides background material & in-depth analysis of various aspects of the conflict from the perspective of both sides, thus helping to shed light on the complex issues dividing Israelis & Palestinians & the relationship between the two peoples.
Foreign Affairs
Reviews current events as they affect US relations worldwide, focusing on international, political, commercial and cultural relations.
Foreign Policy
Presents articles dealing with the United States' attitude toward world affairs and current events.

Searching Library Databases

Articles & Database A-Z List
Our complete list of databases on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7; log in with your MyChaffey information.
How to use Library Databases at Chaffey College
Videos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.

Search Terms to Assist Research on Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

Sample keywords to consider trying when searching for information about this topic.

Israeli-Palestinian conflict
Arab-Israeli conflict
Arab-Israeli War
Gaza Strip
Golan Heights
Hamas
Palestine Liberation Organization
Peace treaties
Sinai Peninsula
Two-state solution
West Bank
Zionism

Database Search Tips

Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?

Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information

What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
	Scholarly Articles	Popular Articles
Examples	Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies	Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
Purpose	In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research	Provide general information for the public
Author	Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials	Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
Audience	Scholars, researchers and students	General public
Language	Specialized terminology	General vocabulary
Images	Few photos & ads	More photos & ads
Accountability	Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field	Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
References	Required	Generally not listed