Research Guides: World Religions &amp; Observances: Shintoism

Shintoism

Image credit: Shintoism icon, Wikipedia Commons, file: P shintoism.svg, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:P_shintoism.svg

Studies in Shinto and Shrines by R. A. B. Ponsonby-Fane First Published in 2005. Written by one of the leading scholars on Japanese culture, this focus of this collection of papers centres on Shinto rites and festivals and shrine buildings. Among the topics covered are the imperial family and Shinto, the three great emperors, Yatagarasu, Yasoshima-No-Matsuri and Kamo Gejo Ryosha. Eleven shrines are discussed in detail, including Tatsuta Jinja, Aso Jinja and Suminoe-No-Okami. Readers will enjoy the book's fascinating subject matter, clear presentation and entertaining style.
ISBN: 9780710310590
Publication Date: 2005-05-24
Shinto by Sokyo Ono
Call Number: 299.56 O58
ISBN: 0804805253
Publication Date: 1962-01-01
Shinto by Paula R. Hartz Offers a concise, current and readable survey of the world's great religions. Each volume describe where a particular religion is practised, its central beliefs and rituals, its contributions to world civilizations and analyzes how it has spread through immigration and conversion.
Call Number: 299.56 H33
ISBN: 0816057257
Publication Date: 2004-07-01

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
Oxford Journals-Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 50 key journals from Oxford University press covering a wide variety of disciplines.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium containing the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

Films On Demand Videos
Contains segments and full videos on the subject.
Introduction: Shinto and Daoism
Approximately 100 million people follow the faiths of Daoism and Shinto. John McCarthy will examine the shrines of these religions as well as Confucianism.
Itsukushima Shrine
The Shinto religion focuses on humanity's relationship with the natural world; deer are considered sacred messengers. Located in Hiroshima Bay, the island has been worshiped as a god. The torii has been destroyed many times due to severe weather conditions.
Shintoism
Video on World History Encyclopedia that provides an inside look into Shintoism, a religion that was founded in ancient Japan.
Filmed By: Donte' Richardson

Shinto
The Pluralism Project by Harvard University is an ethic for living together in a diverse society: not mere tolerance or relativism, but the real encounter of commitments.
Jinja Honcho
Website by Association of Shinto Shrines. Jinja Honcho is an organization in Japan that represents Shinto shrines across the country.
The website provides information about Shintoism, including its history, beliefs, rituals, and practices. It also offers details about individual Shinto shrines, their significance, and their role in Japanese culture and society. Visitors to the website can learn about upcoming events, festivals, and ceremonies at Shinto shrines, as well as access resources for those interested in exploring or studying Shintoism further.
The International Shinto Foundation
This organization promotes the understanding and appreciation of Shinto worldwide. Their website provides articles, resources, and links to further information about Shinto.
Shintō
Information about the religion from online Encyclopedia Britannica.

Shinto Holidays

January 1-3 - Ganjitsu ((Japanese New Year)

February 3 or 4 - Setsubun ((Bean-Throwing Festival)

February 8 - Hari-Kuyo (Festival of Broken Needles)

March 3 - Hima Matsuri (Girls' Day; Doll Festival, Mom-No-Sekku; Peach Blossom Festival)

May 5 - Children's Day

May 15 - Aoi Matsuri

May 18 - Sanja Matsuri

June 14 or 15 - Rice Planting Festivals

June 17 - Lily Festival

July 17 - Gion Matsuri

October 20 - Ebisu Festival

November 15 - Shichi-Go-San

December 31 - Omisoka