Search Terms
|
Christianity Rites and ceremonies Orthodox Eastern Church Jesus and Divinity Transubstantiation Christianity and politics World Christianity |
Christian mission & evangelism King, Martin Luther Luther, Martin Sermon on the Mount Catholic Church -- Doctrines Christianity and other religions Pentecostal churches |
Christian Sects and Denominations
Search Terms
|
Ramadan Islam and politics Islam -- History Islamic civilization Sunni |
Islamic fundamentalism Muslims and religion Islam and civil society Muslim Brotherhood |
Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture by Search Terms
|
Judaism
Rabbinical literature Jewish religious schools Synagogues Reform Judaism Antisemitism
|
Bar/Bat Mitzvah Ghettoism Zionism maccabean revolt rabbis Ashkenazic Sephardic
|
Religion and Public Discourse in an Age of Transition by Search Terms
|
Christianity and other religions Bahai Faith Religious history
|
Bahai Faith -- United States Bahá’u’lláh Bábí Movement
|
The A to Z of the Druzes by
The Druzes are one of the smallest, least studied, and most esoteric religious communities in the Middle East. This is because the Druze teachings remain inaccessible not only to outsiders but also to uninitiated members within the Druze community itself. Furthermore, proselytizing--inducing someone to convert to one's own religious faith--has been prohibited since the establishment of the sect in the 11th century. In order to resist assimilation by the various empires and colonial powers that sought to dominate them--the Byzantines, various Arab dynasties, the Mamluks and Ottomans, the British and French, in addition to the nations that govern them--the Druzes disguise and conceal their beliefs. Therefore, not much is known by outsiders about the Druzes. This dictionary provides nearly 1,000 concise and informative cross-referenced A to Z entries on religious, political, and cultural themes, as well as entries on a number of major families and individuals (artists, writers, diplomats, and leaders) who have contributed to the Druze communities. This volume is also complemented with a chronology, an introductory essay, and a bibliography.
Historical Dictionary of the Druzes by
One of the most intriguing minority groups in the Middle East is now a thousand years old. It emerged in the city of Cairo, spread to what is today Lebanon, Syria, and Israel, and subsequently became known by outsiders as Druze (in Arabic, Durooz, meaning Druzes). Druzes have played a major role in the history of the Middle East and often been misunderstood by neighbors and outsiders because of their esoteric religious doctrine, the secretive nature that such a doctrine has instilled in them, and the variety of perspectives or divisions prevalent among members of the community. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Druzes covers their history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Druzes.
Search Terms
|
Sufism Druzes – History Middle East -- Ethnic relations Muwaḥḥidūn (monotheists or the unitarians)
|
Zoroastrianism Ismailites Druzes -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- Lebanon
|
Search Terms
|
Rastafari movement Reggae music Dreadlocks Bob Marley
|
African Americans Athlyi Rogers Leonard Howell Emperor Haile Selassie I
|
The Samaritans by
Authoritative introduction to the Samaritan tradition from antiquity to the present Most people associate the term "Samaritan" exclusively with the New Testament stories about the Good Samaritan and the Samaritan woman at Jacob's well. Very few are aware that a small community of about 750 Samaritans still lives today in Palestine and Israel; they view themselves as the true Israelites, having resided in their birthplace for thousands of years and preserving unchanged the revelation given to Moses in the Torah. Reinhard Pummer, one of the world's foremost experts on Samaritanism, offers in this book a comprehensive introduction to the people identified as Samaritans in both biblical and nonbiblical sources. Besides analyzing the literary, epigraphic, and archaeological sources, he examines the Samaritans' history, their geographical distribution, their version of the Pentateuch, their rituals and customs, and their situation today. There is no better book available on the subject.
The Origin of the Samaritans by
Many Bible readers will think that chapter 17 of the second book of Kings refers to the origin of the Samaritans. This understanding of the chapter has its earliest attestation in the works of Josephus. The present book evaluates the methods often used for finding the origin of the Samaritans, makes an assessment of well known and new material, and ventures into some uncharted territory. It is suggested that the moment of birth of the Samaritans was the construction of the temple on Mount Gerizim. This happened in the first part of the fourth century b.c.e. in accordance with the original commandment of Moses in Deut 27:4.
The Samaritans in Historical, Cultural and Linguistic Perspectives by Search Terms
|
Samaritans – history Arabic Studies Pentateuch Minority families – Israel |
Pentateuch Aaron – Samaritan High Priest Samaritan Theology |
The Book of Mormon by
For the twelve million members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints worldwide (six million in the United States), The Book of Mormon is literally the word of God, a companion volume to the Bible that contains the everlasting gospel. With the faith now of one of the fastest-growing religions in the country, Doubleday is proud to publish this first official trade edition of The Book of Mormon by special arrangement with the Church. According to Mormon belief, The Book of Mormon was inscribed on golden plates by generations of prophets, quoted and abridged by the prophet-historian Mormon, and buried in the ground by Mormon's son, Moroni. Fourteen centuries later, in 1823, the angel Moroni led Joseph Smith to the plates hidden in a hillside in upstate New York. Smith translated the ancient language into English through divine revelation. The Book of Mormon narrates the historical, religious, political, and military events that shaped and continue to inform the Church's teachings. The publication of this edition offers the opportunity to explore one of the largest denominations in America today.
A Kingdom Transformed by
To survive in an often disapproving external social world, the LDS Church has made many adaptive changes in belief, practice, and organization over time. Gordon and Gary Shepherd identify and elucidate these changes through statistical analysis of the rhetoric from General Conference proceedings in their book. The first edition of A Kingdom Transformed, published in 1984, covered the years 1830 to 1979. This new edition revises this earlier work and adds to it by examining the subsequent thirty years of LDS church rhetoric revealing what new trends have emerged and what old ones have continued. It retains the summary and analysis of data from the first 150 years of LDS Church history, but every chapter, including the narrative history of early Mormonism, has been thoroughly rewritten with updated theoretical and empirical support from contemporary research sources. The first edition showed how early twentieth-century LDS leaders were fairly liberal in mainstreaming church doctrines and social teaching, but by mid-twentieth century, as the church became more stable, accepted, and successful, church authorities reversed several earlier modifications and began emphasizing a stricter, more conservative theology that coincided with an increasingly conservative political orientation. The new book adds current issues of concern, such as the role of women in the church and international growth versus member retention. It also introduces a new conceptual framework for interpreting findings.
| Latter-Day Saints | LDS |
| Mormons | Joseph Smith |
In addition to Christmas, Easter, and respective national holidays:
Pioneer Day is celebrated on July 24th to commemorate the Bringham Young's arrival with the first Moromon Pioneers to the Great Salt Lake Valley, Utah. See what kinds of activities happen on that day in Salt Lake City.
Sundays are generally observed as the sabbath and a day of rest.
Some families will practice Family Home Evening, where they engage in reading scripture from the Book of Mormon, singing hymns, and other activities that promote family bonding.
