Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 70 magazines and journals in the biological and medical sciences including Nature magazine.
Scientific American This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to archives and current issue of Scientific American.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to science-oriented content including encyclopedias, reference books and periodicals.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Covers life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. Articles with full-text access indicated with an open lock icon.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor and Francis Online provides access to articles from thousands of electronic journals, published by Taylor & Francis and its subsidiaries. Articles with green checkmark in results are full text.
Oxford Journals-Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 50 key journals from Oxford University press covering a wide variety of disciplines.
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Covers information relevant to the food industry including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with food industry-related issues. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also available.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Subject Journal Titles
Full-text 1999-Present in Oxford Journals
Full-text 2012-Present in Food Science Source
Full-text 1997-Present in Wiley Online Library
Full-text 2006-6 months ago (due to publisher embargo) in Academic Search Complete
Full-text 1997-Present in Taylor & Francis Online
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Find all the articles
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities