This is a JavaScript menu. Please enable scripts in your browser. Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History, Bradshaw-Book Critique Assignment: Find Books

What is a Monograph? And Other Criteria For Choosing a Book

Monograph-According to the Oxford English Dictionary, a monograph is "..a detailed written study of a single specialized topic". It should have a logical progression or story, such as a biography. For instance, a collection of essays is NOT a monograph.

And don't forget other parameters for choosing a book: date, must be from a university press, and over 100 pages in length! Below are two options for books through our Libraries. 

Finding books and e-books in the Library Catalog

Want to see if we have a book on your topic? Or, need to check if we have a textbook on reserve at one of our Libraries? Search here:

Here at Chaffey, we have access to over 90,000 print books at our Libraries and full-text access to over 200,000 ebooks online! Search the Catalog (above) for print books.

Print Books - Some hints about assessing print books to see if it meets the criteria for the book critique assignment.....                                  

Screenshot of results of a search in the library catalog

  • Status-If status listed is Available, book should be on our shelves. If other status such as Checked Out or Lost listed, item may not be available right away.
  • Author-Is there an author listed or only an editor listed after the book title? If an editor, it most like is NOT a monograph!
  • Publisher-Date of Publication as well as Publisher Name in this section. Check date and whether it is from a university press.
  • Call Number- A book's/item's address in our Libraries. Needed to find on the shelf at Rancho site or to request from the front desk if on Reserve at any of our sites.
  • Page Count-Click on Cover art for a title to see more detailed information about a book. Look for the Description section on this next page as this is where the number of pages in a book is listed.

 Chaffey ID required for check-out of books and use of Reserve items.

E-books- No call number listed and status shows Available Online  Then, item is an e-book! Make a note of Title/Author, then search in our eBook Collection. (See right column for more about navigating our eBooks.)

Using eBook Collection Effectively

  • Includes access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years
  • Good for reliable background information on broad topics.

Click to login using MyChaffey credentials.

Type in search term(s) and press the Search button. 

Hint: Scan the titles/subjects listed for ebooks in your results to more quickly locate items more relevant to your topic.

Sample results set in ebook Collection

Tips: 

  • The Subjects area can also be a good place to look for other search terms related to your topic.
  • Scan the By: section right under the book title for date, author and publisher information. Remember, if it list an editor, it most likely is not a monograph!
  • Use the Table of Contents link to scan an ebook for promising sections/chapters. Some of the sections have plus signs (+) next to them; click on the plus sign to view smaller sections. Hint: Click on the final section or chapter listed to determine page count of a book.
  • Or click on the PDF Full Text link and the book will open up with a Table of Contents available on the left-hand side.

To move between pages of a book, use the navigation buttons at the bottom of the webpage. There are icons for printing, downloading, emailing and citing  in the Tools above the open book. 

Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
 Powered by Springshare • LibApps LoginFeedbackBI SurveyLibrary Activities