Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Encyclopedias-World Mythology, General
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend by
Call Number: R291 M55
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
This encyclopedia provides an overview of approximately 3000 myths and legends from around the world and throughout the ages.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities by
Call Number: R291 C85
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
A comprehensive if not exhaustive reference focusing on the origins, histories, and functions of the deities. Also includes the names and alternate names, ancient and modern of the people who believed in them. Extensive cross-referencing identifies classes of deities, alternate spellings and names,
Dictionary of Gods and Goddesses by
Call Number: R291 J82
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
This book provides access to more than 2,500 religious figures, from ancient Sumerian gods through to the modern Haitian deities. New features include cross-references and comprehensive indexes.
Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology by
Call Number: 398.2 R28
Publication Date: 2000-12-15
Critically acclaimed introduction of broad scope to the myths of Mesoamerica from ancient times to the present.
A Dictionary of African Mythology by
Call Number: 299.6 S32
Publication Date: 2000-02-24
A collection of 400 stories, arranged alphabetically, that touch on virtually every aspect of religious belief. Here are gods and goddesses, epic heroes and divine tricksters, along with epics of the world's origins, the struggle between the human and the divine, and much more. Covers the entire continent, from the mouth of the Nile to the shores of the Cape of Good Hope, including North African as well as sub-Saharan cultures.
South Asian Folklore by
Call Number: 398 S72
Publication Date: 2002-12-20
With 600 signed, alphabetically organized articles covering the entirety of folklore in South Asia, this resource includes countries and regions, ethnic groups, religious concepts and practices, artistic genres, holidays and traditions, and many other concepts.
The Encyclopedia of Celtic Mythology and Folklore by
Call Number: 398 M73
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
This reference offers a broad overview of the elements that constitute and characterize Celtic mythology and folklore. Approximately 1000 entries cover such topics as mythic figures; heroic figures; narrative and epic cycles; sacred places and objects; and theories and controversies.
From Olympus to Camelot by
Publication Date: 2003-07-17
Provides a sweeping history of the development of the rich and varied European mythological tradition. Among its contents are introductions to the pantheons of various mythologies, examinations of major mythological works, and retellings of the influential mythical stories. This work also examines European deities, creation myths, and heroes in the context of Christian belief, and considers the translation of traditional stories into the mythologies of modern European political, scientific, philosophical, and economic movements.
Keywords & Call Numbers
- Tales (name of region/culture, examples: China, Hmong)
- Folklore (name of region/culture, examples: Romania, Yoruba)
- 291-Comparative Religion
- 293-Religions of Germanic Origin
- 294-Religions of Indic Origin
- 299-Other Religions
World Mythology-Web Resources
Freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.
The reference and external links in Wikipedia articles are a good place to look for additional resources, especially for mythology and folklore.
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities