Website Evaluation Tutorial
- Website Evaluation TutorialIf you're starting a research assignment and want to do a quick review on how to evaluate websites. Check out our online website evaluation tutorial.
Website Domain Types
.com – Commercial websites
- Generally created by a business or corporation and is for profit.
- Provides information on products or is motivated by sales.
.edu – Educational websites
- Created by a college, university or grade school.
- Information is provided for academic purposes.
- Highly regulated and can only be owned by an educational organization.
.gov – Government websites
- Created by local, state, and national goverments.
- Information is provided for the public.
- Highly regulated and can only be owned by a government organization.
.org – Organization website
- Used by both non-profit organizations, for profit corporations and individuals.
- Organization websites can be owned by a corporation and be sales motivated, owned by an individual or owned by a non-profit organization that provides information supporting a specific cause or viewpoint.
- Carefully evaluate non-profit organizations as they can have a particular viewpoint on an issue, so the information they provide can be biased or slanted in order to support their viewpoint.
Recommended Websites
Government Websites
- U.S. Small Business AdministrationCreated in 1953, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) continues to help small business owners and entrepreneurs pursue the American dream. SBA is the only cabinet-level federal agency fully dedicated to small business and provides counseling, capital, and contracting expertise as the nation’s only go-to resource and voice for small businesses.
- U.S. Dept of State: What is a Small Business?Definitions of small business for vendors and others.
- USA.gov Small BusinessUSA.gov is an interagency product administered by USAGov (formerly the Federal Citizen Information Center), a division of the U.S. General Services Administration's Technology Transformation Service.
- U.S. Dept. of the Treasury: Small Business ProgramsSmall business programs from the Dept. of Treasury. These include credit programs for small business and community development opportunities.
- California Office of the Small Business Advocate (CalOSBA)CalOSBA serves as the voice of small business, representing their views and interests across the state and advocating for equitable access to capital, markets, and networks so that all California small businesses successfully start, manage, grow and become more resilient. Information for every stage of the small business development process.
- U.S. Census: Small Business Statistics and Facts.Here you will find detailed statistics about U.S. businesses that are essential to help small businesses succeed and grow. From the US Census Bureau surveys.
Business Websites: General and Informational
- Small Business TrendsThe site features over 20,000 pages of content. We review tech products, cover small business news, and interview movers and shakers. We spotlight other small businesses and startups. Our core focus is practical content with targeted tips, trends and answers to your toughest questions.
- 21 Great Small Business Ideas to Start in 2021Business News Daily is the internet’s leading authority for startup and early stage business owners to find the crucial news and information they need to launch and grow successful businesses.
Organizations
- Small Business & Entrepreneurship CouncilThe Small Business and Entrepreneurship Council (SBE Council) is a 501c(4) advocacy, research and education organization dedicated to protecting small business and promoting entrepreneurship. Our network of supporters include entrepreneurs and small business owners, state and local business organizations, corporate partners and associations.
- National Federation of Independent BusinessNFIB is the voice of small business, advocating on behalf of America’s small and independent business owners, both in Washington, D.C., and in all 50 state capitals. NFIB is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and member-driven. Since our founding in 1943, NFIB has been exclusively dedicated to small and independent businesses, and remains so today.
- 18 Best Small Business Associations for Entrepreneurs in 2021Posted by Fundera (NerdWallet) a list of helpful websites for small businesses. Includes Chambers of Commerce, industry meetups, and local small business groups for the SBA.
Fact Check your sources using SIFT -- Click through the tabs to begin the tutorial
Introducing SIFT
SIFT is an easy-to-use four-step method of fact-checking information you find anywhere. Digital literacy expert Mike Caulfield has created a few short videos to explain how to best use SIFT.
Step 1: Stop!
Before you use a source. ask yourself:
Who's responsible for the information?
Who created and disseminated it? And do you recognize the source?
If so, do you trust it? If the answer is no or you're unsure, consider some of the following:
Step 2: Investigate the Source
What do others have to say about the organization and the creators? (Hint: Try scanning the Wikipedia article on the source, if there is one) Look for surprises, particularly those that deviate from your initial impression! Take a look at the video (2:45) that covers how to fact-check efficiently and effectively by "reading vertically"
Step 3: Find Better Coverage
If you're unsure about a source especially if it is making a claim that you want to use or share, investigate if other sources that you trust more are also making the claim. The following video (4:10) covers strategies for finding better coverage of a claim:
Step 4: Trace Claims, Quotes and media to the Original Context
Context is critical when it comes to information claims. And information changes as it gets passed along and shared, sometimes unintentionally, sometimes deliberately. So, consider tracing the claim back to its original source and context. Take a look at the following video (1:33) that covers tips for "going upstream" and finding the original context:
Google Advanced Search
Quick Tip: If you are searching Google for a website with a specific domain, such as a .gov or .edu, when you type in your search add "site:" and the domain type at the end of your search term. For example, if you wanted to find government websites on gun control, type in "gun control site:.gov". Or if you wanted to specifically search for non-profit websites that had information on wildlife, type in "wildlife site:.org".
- Google Advanced SearchUse to specify website domain when searching, such as .gov sites for government information.