Website Evaluation Tutorial
- Website Evaluation TutorialIf you're starting a research assignment and want to do a quick review on how to evaluate websites. Check out our online website evaluation tutorial.
Website Domain Types
.com – Commercial websites
- Generally created by a business or corporation and is for profit.
- Provides information on products or is motivated by sales.
.edu – Educational websites
- Created by a college, university or grade school.
- Information is provided for academic purposes.
- Highly regulated and can only be owned by an educational organization.
.gov – Government websites
- Created by local, state, and national goverments.
- Information is provided for the public.
- Highly regulated and can only be owned by a government organization.
.org – Organization website
- Used by both non-profit organizations, for profit corporations and individuals.
- Organization websites can be owned by a corporation and be sales motivated, owned by an individual or owned by a non-profit organization that provides information supporting a specific cause or viewpoint.
- Carefully evaluate non-profit organizations as they can have a particular viewpoint on an issue, so the information they provide can be biased or slanted in order to support their viewpoint.
Recommended Websites
- US Energy Information Administration: ElectricityDefinitions of electricity, examples of uses, links to sources and statistics. From the website: Electricity is the flow of electrical power or charge. Electricity is both a basic part of nature and one of the most widely used forms of energy. The electricity that we use is a secondary energy source because it is produced by converting primary sources of energy such as coal, natural gas, nuclear energy, solar energy, and wind energy, into electrical power.
- History of ElectricityThe history of electricity and it's use as a utility. The Institute for Energy Research (IER) is a not-for-profit organization that conducts intensive research and analysis on the functions, operations, and government regulation of global energy markets.
National Electric Code
- National Electrical Code and Other Standards - Free AccessSign up with school email and information to access free version on the NEC and other related standards for electricity and safety. After registering you will be taken to the free access version of the code. See link here for instructions on registering and access the code: https://store.chipkin.com/articles/how-to-read-the-nec-for-free-legally
Electrical Blueprints
- Skillcat: A complete guide to electrical drawings, blueprints & electrical wiring.Short tutorial on reading electrical blueprints. Skillcat is an app that provides free training and skills in the trades, including HVAC, electrician, plumbing, and other trades areas. Download the app to access trainings and certifications.
Professional Organizations
- IEEE (Institution of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)This is the world’s largest professional association for the advancement of technology. Their mission: IEEE and its members inspire a global community to innovate for a better tomorrow through highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities. IEEE is the trusted “voice” for engineering, computing, and technology information around the globe. Student membership is available: https://www.ieee.org/membership/join/index.html
Industrial Electronic Technology Work Environment
- Work EnvironmentIndustrial engineering technologists and technicians work environment from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Solar and Renewable Energy
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory: Energy BasicsEnergy sources are either renewable, meaning they can easily be replenished, or nonrenewable, meaning they draw on finite resources. Learn about renewable energy resources and how we can use nonrenewable energy sources more efficiently.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory: Solar Photovoltaic EnergyThe National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL.gov) is transforming energy through research, development, commercialization, and deployment of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies. Learn more about solar technologies here. Energy developers and utilities use solar photovoltaic and concentrating solar power technologies to produce electricity on a massive scale to power cities and small towns. Solar photovoltaic energy converts sunlight directly into electricity to power homes and businesses.
OSHA Safety Standards
- US Dept of Labor, OSHA Safety Standards for ElectricalThis section of the OSHA website highlights various OSHA standards and documents related to electrical hazards.Provides OSHA standards for electrical safety with specific standards for industry and maritime.
- US Dept of Labor: Occupational Safety and Health AdministrationThe OSHA.gov website provides an overview of electrical safety in the workplace. Electricity has long been recognized as a serious workplace hazard. OSHA's electrical standards are designed to protect employees exposed to dangers such as electric shock, electrocution, fires, and explosions. The Overview links to Standards, Construction, Training, and other areas.
Fact Check your sources using SIFT -- Click through the tabs to begin the tutorial
Introducing SIFT
SIFT is an easy-to-use four-step method of fact-checking information you find anywhere. Digital literacy expert Mike Caulfield has created a few short videos to explain how to best use SIFT.
Step 1: Stop!
Before you use a source. ask yourself:
Who's responsible for the information?
Who created and disseminated it? And do you recognize the source?
If so, do you trust it? If the answer is no or you're unsure, consider some of the following:
Step 2: Investigate the Source
What do others have to say about the organization and the creators? (Hint: Try scanning the Wikipedia article on the source, if there is one) Look for surprises, particularly those that deviate from your initial impression! Take a look at the video (2:45) that covers how to fact-check efficiently and effectively by "reading vertically"
Step 3: Find Better Coverage
If you're unsure about a source especially if it is making a claim that you want to use or share, investigate if other sources that you trust more are also making the claim. The following video (4:10) covers strategies for finding better coverage of a claim:
Step 4: Trace Claims, Quotes and media to the Original Context
Context is critical when it comes to information claims. And information changes as it gets passed along and shared, sometimes unintentionally, sometimes deliberately. So, consider tracing the claim back to its original source and context. Take a look at the following video (1:33) that covers tips for "going upstream" and finding the original context:
Google Advanced Search
Quick Tip: If you are searching Google for a website with a specific domain, such as a .gov or .edu, when you type in your search add "site:" and the domain type at the end of your search term. For example, if you wanted to find government websites on gun control, type in "gun control site:.gov". Or if you wanted to specifically search for non-profit websites that had information on wildlife, type in "wildlife site:.org".
- Google Advanced SearchUse to specify website domain when searching, such as .gov sites for government information.