Searching Library Databases
- Articles & Database A-Z ListOur complete list of databases on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7; log in with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.
Find all the articles
https://imgflip.com/i/1p2nj1
Access Scholarly Articles with LibKey Nomad
- Download LibKey Nomad ExtensionGet access to scholarly articles that usually hide behind paywalls!
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journal Articles vs. Popular Magazine Articles
Journal Articles
- Scholarly, peer reviewed and carefully fact checked
- Written by subject specialists, often containing original research
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles Scholarly Articles Popular Articles Purpose In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research Provide general information for the public Author Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content Audience Scholars, researchers and students General public Language Specialized terminology General vocabulary Images Few photos & ads More photos & ads Accountability Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists) References Required Generally not listed Examples Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
Subject Journal Titles
- AfterimageNews, reports, essays, and reviews that discuss and analyze independent photography, film, electronic imaging, alternative publishing and telecommunications.
- LifeArchive of Life publications, which featured photography in black/white and color.
- PSA JournalHow-to and philosophical articles on all aspects of photography, product reviews, advice and news published by the Photographic Society of America.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information