Searching Library Databases
- Articles & Database A-Z ListList of all the library databases containing articles on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7, just login with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.
Find all the articles
https://imgflip.com/i/1p2nj1
Recommended Databases for Career Information
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- Vocational Studies Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related magazines and journals. Useful for finding career information.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals in the area of business as well as financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowAccess to education literature and resources including academic journal articles, conference papers, and more. Limited full-text.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
| Scholarly Articles | Popular Articles | |
| Examples | Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies | Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair |
| Purpose | In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research | Provide general information for the public |
| Author | Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials | Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content |
| Audience | Scholars, researchers and students | General public |
| Language | Specialized terminology | General vocabulary |
| Images | Few photos & ads | More photos & ads |
| Accountability | Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field | Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists) |
| References | Required | Generally not listed |
Career Related Journals at Chaffey
- Career Development QuarterlyArticles on career assessment & measurement, career counseling practices, career indecision, information, salience, self-efficacy, theory, transitions, gender issues, case histories & work & family.
- Career OutlookFormerly Occupational Outlook Quarterly (1989 - current). Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Provides articles on career, employment and hiring trends.
- Careers & CollegesDesigned to help high school juniors and seniors set and meet their academic, career & financial goals.
- Journal of Career & Technical EducationCovers career and technical education philosophy, theory and practice.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information