Finding Articles: Research Databases - History of the United States Colonial Period - Reconstruction

Google Scholar

Key Databases for World History

What is the basic definition of a library database?

A library database is an electronic (online) catalog or index
Library databases contain information about published items
Library databases are searchable
The library subscribes to many databases so Chaffey College students have access to these resources. When you're searching a database, you are not searching "the web."
Library databases allow you to find:
- Articles in Journals/Magazines/Newspapers
- Reference Information (i.e. entries from Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.)
- Books & other documents

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on every recognized country of the world. The Country Reviews section provides a political and economic survey for each of the countries of the world. The CountrWire section provides the latest political, economic, corporate, and environmental news on a country by country basis as it occurs.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Speciﬁc features of eBooks on EBSCOhost: • Direct links to full-text eBooks • Notetaking capabilities • Copy & paste functionality (when available) • Printing • Emailing • Citation exports • Bookmarking • Web-based interface—no reader or hardware required
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes pamphlets, and magazine and journal articles, many full-text, relating to the military and government fields. Useful for papers on foreign policy and military topics.

Primary Vs. Secondary Sources

A PRIMARY SOURCE is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event. Some types of primary sources include:

ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS (excerpts or translations acceptable): Diaries, speeches, oral histories, manuscripts, letters, interviews, news film footage, autobiographies, official record, newspaper ads/stories

CREATIVE WORKS: Poetry, drama, novels, music, art, photographs

RELICS OR ARTIFACTS: Pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings

Examples of primary sources include:

Diary of Anne Frank - Experiences of a Jewish family during WWII
The Constitution of Canada - Canadian History
A journal article reporting NEW research or findings
Weavings and pottery - Native American history
Plato's Republic - Women in Ancient Greece

A SECONDARY SOURCE interprets and analyzes primary sources. These sources are one or more steps removed from the event. Secondary sources may have pictures, quotes or graphics of primary sources in them. Some types of seconday sources include:

PUBLICATIONS: Textbooks, magazine articles, histories, criticisms, commentaries, encyclopedias

Examples of secondary sources include:

A journal/magazine article which interprets or reviews previous findings
A history textbook
A book about the effects of WWI

History of the United States Colonial Period - Reconstruction: Finding Articles: Research Databases

Google Scholar

Key Databases for World History

Primary Vs. Secondary Sources