Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Find all the articles
Below are recommended resources to search for background and historical information for your paper on a veteran-related issue. Start with these sources to build a working knowledge of your chosen topic.
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines.
Access to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on a topic.
Series of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
Searchable access to 38 specialized encyclopedias full-text. Good for reliable background and historical information on a topic and/or subculture or for look-up of terms.
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Subject Journal Titles
A triannual journal of scholarly criticism for college/university teachers, timely material on new developments, textual analysis, literary theory and pedagogy for changing college classrooms.
Presents articles which explore important problems in literary theory and literary history not confined to a single national literature.
Dedicated to the range of professional practices associated with rhetoric & composition. Teaching college writing, preparing the field's future teacher-scholars.
Journal of Modern Literature
Each issue emphasizes scholarly studies of literature in all languages, as well as related arts and cultural artifacts, from 1900 to the present; publication is international in its scope.
Texas Studies in Literature & Language
Essays and review essays in all areas of literature and in American studies.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities