What Is Plagiarism?
Plagiarism can be intentional or unintentional
Avoid Plagiarism by Citing Sources
Bainbridge State College. "Plagiarism: How to Avoid It." YouTube. YouTube, 5 Jan. 2010. Web. 19 Oct. 2014.
A transcript is in process for this video. If you need assistance, please contact the Reference Librarian at library@chaffey.edu.
Why is it Important to Cite Your Sources for Your Research Papers?
Citing sources and creating a Bibliography/Works Cited List:
- Gives credit to the author(s)
- Illustrates your ability to locate & evaluate appropriate sources
- Provides evidence for the arguments and conclusions in your paper
- Prevents plagarism and copyright infringement
Consequences of Plagiarism Here at Chaffey
The School Dean may impose the following sanctions after meeting with the student:
- verbal warning or written reprimand
- failing grade for an assignment
- failing grade in the course
- removal from class
- restitution
The Dean of Student Services and Discipline may also meet with the student and impose additional sanctions based on the student’s previous discipline history. Additional sanctions may include:
- disciplinary probation
- removal
- suspension
- expulsion of the student
- ineligibility to participate in extracurricular activities
Source: https://www.chaffey.edu/fac-handbook/i/pdf/Student_Behavior_CodeSH14-15.pdf
Works Cited Generators on the Web!
The Nuts & Bolts
MLA Handbook 9th Edition
"MLA Handbook 9th Edition Simplified: Concise Guide to the MLA 9th Edition Handbook" is specifically designed for students and professional writers to quickly learn updated MLA Style in a convenient and easy way. With this guide, you will be able to format your paper according to the MLA style right away thanks to its easy-to-navigate structure and step-by-step guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format. MLA Handbook Ninth Edition Simplified offers general guidelines and multiple examples that allow writers: -to cite any type of work; -to format title pages, running head, headings, lists, etc.; -to learn more about in-text citations, quoting, paraphrasing; -to create Works Cited list in MLA format; -to use footnotes and endnotes; -to format tables, figures, and examples, etc. Includes MLA-formatted Sample Paper. Learn more about spelling, punctuation, capitalization, italics, abbreviations, numbers, etc.
Call Number: 808.02 G43ISBN: 9781471718892Publication Date: 2022-04-23
What is MLA Style?
MLA (Modern Language Association) style specifies guidelines for formatting papers. MLA style also provides a system for referencing sources through parenthetical citation in essays and Works Cited pages.
Most importantly, the use of MLA style can protect writers from accusations of plagiarism, which is the purposeful or accidental uncredited use of material by other writers.