Research Guides: Economics: Find Articles

Searching Library Databases

Articles & Database A-Z List
Our complete list of databases on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7; log in with your MyChaffey information.
How to use Library Databases at Chaffey College
Videos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.

Database Search Tips

Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?

Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information

Access Scholarly Articles with LibKey Nomad

Download LibKey Nomad Extension
Get access to scholarly articles that usually hide behind paywalls!

Recommended Databases for Economics

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text scholarly journals in the area of business as well as financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles out of business journals, newspapers, and news wires focusing on regional areas of the United States.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Series of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.

What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journal Articles vs. Popular Magazine Articles

Journal Articles

Scholarly, peer reviewed and carefully fact checked

Written by subject specialists, often containing original research

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
	Scholarly Articles	Popular Articles
Purpose	In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research	Provide general information for the public
Author	Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials	Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
Audience	Scholars, researchers and students	General public
Language	Specialized terminology	General vocabulary
Images	Few photos & ads	More photos & ads
Accountability	Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field	Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
References	Required	Generally not listed
Examples	Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies	Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair

Subject Journal Titles

Global Business & Economics Anthology
Goal of the publication is to serve as a medium of open discussion for everyone interested in Business and Economics problems and promote the disciplines of Business and Economics as fields of study.
Journal of Applied Economics
Discusses industrial organization, international economics, labor economics, finance, money & banking, growth, public finance, political economy, law & economics, & environmental economics.
Journal of Applied Economics & Business Research
Publishes articles on emerging markets economics, and all fields of applied economics, business and finance; includes empirical papers with significant policy implications.
Journal of International Economics
Analytic work in the pure theory of international trade and in balance-of-payments analysis, institutional, empirical and econometric work aimed at a professional readership in the area of international economics.
Journal of Management & Economics Research
Focuses on topics in the areas of economics, business administration, public administration, econometrics, labor economics, political science, etc.
RAND Journal of Economics
Theoretical and empirical manuscripts in economics and law aimed at encouraging research in the behavior of regulated industries, the economic analysis of organizations and applied microeconomics.
Review of Economics & Statistics
Refereed research articles and notes on all aspects of economics and statistics published for the Harvard University Department of Economics.