Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly Publications-Further Information
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals
YouTube video produced by Vanderbilt University explaining the differences between scholarly and popular sources. Includes closed-captioning.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Overview and explanation of the different sections of a typical academic journal article. Produced by NCSU Libraries.
Ovid Nursing Community College Basic Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to five core practitioner journals in the Nursing field including American Journal of Nursing and Nursing (201X).
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for current journals and publications in the nursing and allied health fields. Many articles are available full-text.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an index of magazines and journals articles in the medical disciplines. Many of the articles are available full-text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
MedLine This link opens in a new window
Contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world. Limited full-text.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990, some with full text.
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Covers information relevant to the food industry including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with food industry-related issues. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also available.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Subject Journal Titles
American Journal of Nursing (AJN)
Full-text 1996-present in Ovid Nursing Community College Basic Journal Collection
Full-text 2002-present in Ovid Nursing Community College Basic Journal Collection
Nursing Critical Care
Full-text 2006-present in Ovid Nursing Community Collect Basic Journal Collection
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities