Search Tips:
- The Subject area can also be a good place to look for other search terms related to your topic.
- Use the Table of Contents link to scan an ebook for promising sections/chapters. Some of the sections have plus signs (+) next to them; click on the plus sign to view smaller sections.
- Or click on the PDF Full Text link and the book will open up with a Table of Contents available on the left-hand side.
eBooks
Religious Intolerance in America, Second Edition by
The story of religion in America is one of unparalleled diversity and protection of the religious rights of individuals. But that story is a muddied one. This new and expanded edition of a classroom favorite tells a jolting history?illuminated by historical texts, pictures, songs, cartoons, letters, and even t-shirts?of how our society has been and continues to be replete with religious intolerance. It powerfully reveals the narrow gap between intolerance and violence in America. The second edition contains a new chapter on Islamophobia and adds fresh material on the Christian persecution complex, white supremacy and other race-related issues, sexuality, and the role played by social media. John Corrigan and Lynn S. Neal?s overarching narrative weaves together a rich, compelling array of textual and visual materials. Arranged thematically, each chapter provides a broad historical background, and each document or cluster of related documents is entwined in context as a discussion of the issues unfolds. The need for this book has only increased in the midst of today?s raging conflicts about immigration, terrorism, race, religious freedom, and patriotism.
Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Prejudice, Stereotyping, and Discrimination by ISBN: 9781136642708Publication Date: 2009
Race Relations in America by
This book is an essential resource for anyone who wants to understand race in America, drawing on research from a variety of fields to answer frequently asked questions regarding race relations, systemic racism, and racial inequality. This work is part of a series that uses evidence-based documentation to examine the veracity of claims and beliefs about high-profile issues in American culture and politics. This particular volume examines the true state of race relations and racial inequality in the United States, drawing on empirical research in the hard sciences and social sciences to answer frequently asked questions regarding race and inequality. The book refutes falsehoods, misunderstandings, and exaggerations surrounding these topics and confirms the validity of other assertions. Assembling this empirical research into one accessible place allows readers to better understand the scholarly evidence on such high-interest topics as white privilege, racial bias in criminal justice, media bias, housing segregation, educational inequality, disparities in employment, racial stereotypes, and personal attitudes about race and ethnicity in America. The authors draw from scholarly research in biology, genetics, medicine, sociology, psychology, anthropology, and economics (among many other fields) to answer these questions, and in doing so they provide readers with the information to enter any conversation about American race relations in the 21st century as informed citizens.
Publication Date: 2021
Why Use Books and eBooks?
Books are a great place to start your research because:
- They're a good source for background and a quick history on a topic: the who, what, where, when and why!
- They can also help narrow down a broad topic and find smaller issues within a topic.
- They've been reviewed and evaluated before being published, so they are credible resources.
Library Online eBooks
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.