Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Find all the articles
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Please try with some of these sample searches:
Sample Subject Terms to Use for Search
- Dating (Social Customs)
- College Students' Sexual Behavior
- Attitudes Toward Sex
- Social Media
- Online Dating
- Romantic Love
- Sexual Attraction
- LGBT People and Romantic Love
- Non-Monogamous Relationships
- Hookup Culture
SocINDEX with Full Text
Listed below are some of the sample searches you can use to search this database. You can even use the search terms from Academic Search Complete.
Sample Search Terms to Use
- LGBT AND Relationships
- Same-sex marriage
- Gay couples
- Friendship + Intimacy + Virtual communications
- Online dating + Romantic friendship
- Romantic friendship
A source of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of Psychology. Search this database if your topic deals with relationships and their psychological impact. Listed below are some of the sample searches:
Sample Search Terms to Use
- Male Female Relations
- LGBT + Relationships
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Subject Journal Titles
Journal of Social & Personal Relationships
Features empirical and theoretical papers on social and personal relationships.
Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services
Dedicated to the development of knowledge which meets the practical needs of lesbian, gay, bisexual & transgendered people in their social context.
Search within the publication --> use search term “relationships.”
Devoted to the study of personal relationships. The aim is to promote scholarship in the field of personal relationships throughout a broad range of disciplines.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities