Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Example keywords to use and mix and match for search: Popular culture; Language & culture; Colloquil language; Slang; Coding.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Access to full-text scholarly journals and other research resources in the field of communication and mass media studies.
Access to education literature and resources including academic journal articles, conference papers, and more. Limited full-text.
Films On Demand
Includes access to over 25,000 videos in a wide variety of disciplines.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Contains full-text journal articles, books and monographs as well as conference papers in the field of sociology.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Subject Journal Titles
Please use the keywords below to assist you with your search
Language & Speech
Provides a forum for communication among researchers in a wide range of disciplines that contribute to our understanding of the production, perception, processing, learning, use, & disorders of speech & language.
Journal of Language & Social Psychology
Articles exploring the social dimensions of language and the linguistic implications of social life.
Language & Communication
Publishes contributions from researchers in all disciplines relevant to the study of verbal and non-verbal communication.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Find all the articles
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities