Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Searching Library Databases
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Find all the articles
Academic Search Complete
Articles from scholarly journals and other periodicals; book reviews.
Comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news.
Gale Virtual Reference Center
Provides excerpts from reference books such as specialized encyclopedias. Useful for general overview of the topic.
Literary Reference Center Plus
Provides book reviews, literary criticism and plot summaries. Information on authors and their works for a broad spectrum of literature.
Scholarly articles from academic journals and other publications in a wide range of disciplines.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
Subject Journal Titles
Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational Studies
Dedicated to the multidisciplinary study of the history, culture, social structure, politics & economics of both the traditional diasporas & those transnational dispersions which in the past three decades have chosen to identify themselves as diasporas.
Forced Migration Review
Presents information on refugee and internal displacement issues.
Articles, review articles, poetry, short fiction, film and book reviews of scholarship and criticism about women in the fields of literature, history, art, sociology, law, political science, economics, anthropology and the sciences.
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities