What Is Plagiarism?
pla·gia·rism (noun)
The practice of taking someone else's work or ideas and passing them off as one's own.
Synonyms - copying, infringement of copyright, piracy, theft, stealing. Informal - cribbing "accusations of plagiarism." Source: Google Definition
Plagiarism can be intentional or unintentional.
Works Cited Generators on the Web
Citations Galore!
https://blog.writersdomain.net/2014/06/17/this-aint-your-high-school-english-class-why-plagiarism-is-a-big-deal/
MLA Nuts & Bolts
MLA Handbook 9th Edition
"MLA Handbook 9th Edition Simplified: Concise Guide to the MLA 9th Edition Handbook" is specifically designed for students and professional writers to quickly learn updated MLA Style in a convenient and easy way. With this guide, you will be able to format your paper according to the MLA style right away thanks to its easy-to-navigate structure and step-by-step guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format. MLA Handbook Ninth Edition Simplified offers general guidelines and multiple examples that allow writers: -to cite any type of work; -to format title pages, running head, headings, lists, etc.; -to learn more about in-text citations, quoting, paraphrasing; -to create Works Cited list in MLA format; -to use footnotes and endnotes; -to format tables, figures, and examples, etc. Includes MLA-formatted Sample Paper. Learn more about spelling, punctuation, capitalization, italics, abbreviations, numbers, etc.
Call Number: 808.02 G43ISBN: 9781471718892Publication Date: 2022-04-23
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide From Owl Purdue University Writing Lab MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Avoid Plagiarism by Citing Sources
Bainbridge State College. "Plagiarism: How to Avoid It." YouTube. YouTube, 5 Jan. 2010. Web. 19 Oct. 2014.
A transcript is in process for this video. If you need assistance, please contact the Reference Librarian at library@chaffey.edu.
Why is it Important to Cite Your Sources for Your Research Papers?
Citing sources and creating a Bibliography/Works Cited List:
- Gives credit to the author(s)
- Illustrates your ability to locate & evaluate appropriate sources
- Provides evidence for the arguments and conclusions in your paper
- Prevents plagarism and copyright infringement
Language Success Centers
- Chaffey College's Language Success CenterNeed more help? Contact the Language Success Center for tutors and workshops on citing your sources.