Welcome to Chaffey College Library
This guide is designed to assist you in finding resources for Black Lives Matter. The recommended sources include databases for articles, videos, and books. Librarians are always here to help.
________________________________________________________________
Depending on your topic you may explore Chaffey College Library Archives for primary sources, for example, photographs for assignments in classes such as History, Ethnic Studies, English, Anthropology. Colleges' archives houses records and activities of the college community.
Schedule an appointment to research non-circulating materials stored in the archives.
Why Use Databases
Instructors may require students to use articles (scholarly, magazine or newspaper) in their assignments. Library Databases are one resource to locate articles on varied subjects.
Access library databases using MyChaffey Portal Username and password.
- Opposing Viewpoints Black Lives Matter resources Draws on the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as material from other reference sources including specialized encyclopedias to present social issues. Great place to check for topics for research papers. Most useful for selecting a topic, position papers, statistics and background reference material.
- CQ Researcher report on Slavery's Legacy CQ Researcher includes series of reports on current and controversial issues originally designed to provide background information on a topic for journalists. Good resource for a quick and thorough overview of a topic. Reports also include a chronology/timeline which can be valuable resource for a quick historical overview of an issue.
- Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text access to academic and professional research resources in the areas of administration of justice, correctional science and related fields.
Searching Library Databases
- Articles & Database A-Z ListOur complete list of databases on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7; log in with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.
Contact Chaffey College Librarians with questions on searching for articles using library databases.
Newspaper, Magazine, Scholar Articles from Library Resources
Browse for articles published in America: History & Life with Full-text Database.
Articles from Political Science Complete Database.
Browse for articles published in newspapers - Newspapers - US Major Dailies.
Browse for articles published in magazines.
Browse for articles, including scholarly articles in Police Quarterly Database.
Land Acknowledgement
With respect and honor for the lands where Chaffey College resides and the leaders who came before us, we would like to take a moment to acknowledge the Gabrieleño-Tongva (GABRIEL-EN-YO TONG-VAH) Peoples, the original stewards of these sacred and unceded homelands. The Tongva people’s history, language(s), cultural traditions, and legacy continue to shape this region and we recognize their continuing presence in their homelands.