Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
Logging into Library Online Resources
Click on the online Library Resource and a login window will open. Enter your MyChaffey ID and password, then click on the Login button.
Searching Library Databases
Database Search Tips
Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies
||Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
||In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research
||Provide general information for the public
||Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials
||Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
||Scholars, researchers and students
||Few photos & ads
||More photos & ads
||Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field
||Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
||Generally not listed
- Big Bang Theory
Subject Journal Titles
Advances in Astronomy
Publishes original research on all areas of astronomy and astrophysics.
Features articles on all aspects of the universe.
Astronomy & Astrophysics
Covers theoretical, observational, and instrumental aspects of astronomy & astrophysics.
Contains scientific papers & rapid communications on the results & interpretation of new ground-based observations, space experiments & theoretical research in the fields of astronomy & astrophysics.
Features original papers on current theoretical & observational research in astronomy as well as important book reviews & reports of scientific meetings.
Includes articles about developments in detection techniques, instruments, and data analysis and image processing techniques.
Journal of Astrophysics & Astronomy
Publishes papers on all aspects of Astrophysics and Astronomy, including Instrumentation.
Powered by Springshare • LibApps Login • Feedback • BI Survey • Library Activities