Zines at The Chaffey College Library
Created by Librarian Annette Young, this zine template showcases how to create a zine and encourages you to make your own zine.
Guide to Research
Created by Librarian Annette Young, this zine template showcases strategies for conducting research at the Chaffey College Libraries.
How to Be an Undocu-Ally
Created by Professor Neil Watkins, this zine template showcases how to support and advocate for undocumented immigrants and their families.
The A - Z of Zines
By Alaast Kamalabadi, this article published in The Breeze illustrates a list on how to craft, appreciate, distribute, collect, and study zines.
A Brief History of Zines and Why You Should Make One
By Alanna Stapleton, this article from Medium gives a brief history and development of the zine and how to get started making your own.
Your Black Friend and Other Strangers by ISBN: 9781945509032Publication Date: 2016-12-01
a is for aspergers: a personal glossary of a spectrumy life by Call Number: PER ZINE ASPE COLT 2017Publication Date: August 8, 2017
Whatever, Women Everywhere by Call Number: PER ZINE WOME EVER ISS.04Publication Date: [2017?]
Today's identity of the day is... by Call Number: PER ZINE ROSE KAYL 2015/JUNPublication Date: 2015
Tributaries #6 : an interesting case by Call Number: PER ZINE TRIBUTARIES #06Publication Date: 2016
Whatcha Mean, What's a Zine? by
A zine is a handmade magazine or mini-comic about anything you can imagine: favorite bands, personal stories, subcultures, or collections. They contain diary entries, rants, interviews, and stories. They can be by one person or many, found in stores, traded at comic conventions, exchanged with friends, or given away for free. Zines are not a new idea: they've been around for years under various names (chapbooks, flyers, pamphlets). People with independent ideas have been getting theirword out since before there were printing presses. This book is for anyone who wants to create their own zine. It's for learning tips and tricks from contributors who have been at the fore front of the zine movement. It's for getting inspired to put thoughts and ideas down on paper. It's for learning how to design and print your own zine so you can put it in others' hands. Whatcha Mean, What's a Zine? is for anyone who has something to say.
Call Number: 070.5 T63ISBN: 0618563156Publication Date: 2006-06-26
Make a Zine! by
In this DIY guide to zine-making, editors Bill Brent, Joe Biel and a cast of contributors take budding self-publishers from the dreaming and scheming stages onto printing, publication and beyond. Covering all the bases for beginners, MAKE A ZINE! hits on more advanced topics like Creative Commons licenses, legality, and sustainability. Described by Feminist Review as 'inspiring, easy, and digestible read for anyone', this illustrated guide is comprehensive, fun and full of flair.
Call Number: 070.5 B83ISBN: 9781934620069Publication Date: 2008-12-01
The Factsheet Five Zine Reader by
Zines, those hip, alternative, self-published magazines, have broken out from the obscurity of the underground and found themselves in the spotlight. Zealous readers are turning to zines for smart writing on everything from cutting-edge music to radical politics. With all that's been said about zines, one question still remains: Where the heck can you find them? And even if you dig them up, who has time to read through them all to get to the good stuff? R. Seth Friedman, super zine sleuth and the head honcho at Factsheet Five magazine, does. Culled from thousands upon thousands of zines, this book features seventy of the best stories, essays, and rants that have appeared over the past few years. These selections are intensely personal, unconventional, and sometimes completely out of this world. More than just a simple anthology, The Factsheet Five Zine Reader includes original art and covers from the zines, descriptions and histories of the zines, and complete ordering information so you can start exploring this exciting new world on your own.
Call Number: 071 F14ISBN: 0609800019Publication Date: 1997-06-24
Zines! by
This is the first comprehensive guidebook to the Zine Movement of self-publishing which started anew in the early 1990s, and continues with Internet blogs and publications like Found. Used in college classes, this how-to volume covers all aspects of self-publishing, including layout and design, promotion, marketing and distribution. Historical background covers everything from Benjamin Franklin's Poor Richard's Almanack to the science-fiction mimeographed zines of the 20s. Zines are independent, not-for-profit publications that counter the corporate monoculture of mainstream media, and are thus instrumental in keeping the torch of liberty and freethinking burning. Some very funny stories and illustrations punctuate this alternative-culture document from the underground.
Call Number: 071 Z77ISBN: 0965046907Publication Date: 1996-06-01
Stolen Sharpie Revolution by
Since 2002, Stolen Sharpie Revolution: a DIY Resource for Zines and Zine Culture has been the go-to guide for all things zine-related. This little red book is stuffed with information about zines. Things you may know, stuff you don't know and even stuff you didn't know you didn't know! Stolen Sharpie Revolution contains a cornucopia of information about zines and zine culture for everyone from the zine newbie to the experienced zinester to the academic researcher. Sharpie Revolution consists of thoughtful lists and step-by-step how-to guides on everything from definitions of a "zine," where to find zines, why they are important, how to make them and how to participate in zine culture. This book has everything you need to get started creating your own zine, or to figure out what to do with the zine you just made. Stolen Sharpie Revolution serves as both an introduction into the wide world of zine culture and as a guide to taking the next step to become a part of it.
Call Number: 070.5 S86 wISBN: 9780981794112Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Zines in Third Space by
Zines in Third Space develops third-space theory with a practical engagement in the subcultural space of zines as alternative media produced specifically by feminists and queers of color. Adela C. Licona explores how borderlands rhetorics function in feminist and queer of-color zines to challenge dominant knowledges as well as normativitizing mis/representations. Licona characterizes these zines as third-space sites of borderlands rhetorics revealing dissident performances, disruptive rhetorical acts, and coalitions that effect new cultural, political, economic, and sexual configurations.
ISBN: 9781438443737Publication Date: 2012-10-31
Girl Zines by
With names like The East Village Inky, Mend My Dress, Dear Stepdad, and IOCOm So Fucking Beautiful, zines created by girls and women over the past two decades make feminismOCOs third wave visible. These messy, photocopied do-it-yourself documents cover every imaginable subject matter and are loaded with handwriting, collage art, stickers, and glitter. Though they all reflect the personal style of the creators, they are also sites for constructing narratives, identities, and communities. Girl Zines is the first book-length exploration of this exciting movement. Alison Piepmeier argues that these quirky, personalized booklets are tangible examples of the ways that girls and women OCydoOCO feminism today. The idiosyncratic, surprising, and savvy arguments and issues showcased in the forty-six images reproduced in the book provide a complex window into feminismOCOs future, where zinesters persistently and stubbornly carve out new spaces for what it means to be a revolutionary and a girl. Girl Zines takes zines seriously, asking what they can tell us about the inner lives of girls and women over the last twenty years."
ISBN: 9780814768501Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Intimate Ephemera: Reading Young Lives in Australian Zine Culture by
"Intimate Ephemera is the first major study of autobiographical writing produced and consumed in a youth subculture. Investigating the uses of the zine form for life writing, it examines the recurrent themes in texts circulating in Australian zine culture, including depression, consumerism, popular culture and political identity. Intimate Ephemera also examines zine culture as a unique community of life writing and reading, where handmade texts circulate in an economy of gifting and exchange utilising the postal system. The book analyses the material diversity of zines as handmade objects, examining the use of the photocopier and craft techniques in these limited edition publications, bringing a focus to the role of the text-object in communicating personal experience. "
ISBN: 9780522855654Publication Date: 2008-05-05
From A to Zine by
Libraries eager to serve the underserved teen-to-twenty year old market can make the library a cool place to hang out. All it takes are Zines, according to the author, young adult librarian Julie Bartel. Zines and alternative press materials provide a unique bridge to appeal to disenfranchised youth, alienated by current collections. For librarians unfamiliar with the territory, or anxious to broaden their collection, veteran zinester Bartel establishes the context, history and philosophy of zines, then ushers readers through an easy, do-it-yourself guide to creating a zine collection, including both print and electronic zines. discussions of intellectual freedom and the Library Bill of Rights. Teen and young adult librarians, high school media specialists, academic librarians, reference, and adult services librarians will uncover answers to questions about this new and growing literary genre: What is a zine and how does a library zine collection work? What are the pros and cons of having a zine collection in the library? When promoting zines, what appeals to patrons and non-library users alike? What is the best way to catalog and display? Where can libraries get zines and how much do they cost? collection, as well as a comprehensive directory of zine resources in this one-stop, one-of-a-kind guide.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 0838908861Publication Date: 2005-07-01
