Website Evaluation Tutorial
- Website Evaluation TutorialIf you're starting a research assignment and want to do a quick review on how to evaluate websites. Check out our online website evaluation tutorial.
Website Domain Types
.com – Commercial websites
- Generally created by a business or corporation and is for profit.
- Provides information on products or is motivated by sales.
.edu – Educational websites
- Created by a college, university or grade school.
- Information is provided for academic purposes.
- Highly regulated and can only be owned by an educational organization.
.gov – Government websites
- Created by local, state, and national goverments.
- Information is provided for the public.
- Highly regulated and can only be owned by a government organization.
.org – Organization website
- Used by both non-profit organizations, for profit corporations and individuals.
- Organization websites can be owned by a corporation and be sales motivated, owned by an individual or owned by a non-profit organization that provides information supporting a specific cause or viewpoint.
- Carefully evaluate non-profit organizations as they can have a particular viewpoint on an issue, so the information they provide can be biased or slanted in order to support their viewpoint.
General Internet Resources
- Food Worker Training and Test-San Bernardino County Division of Environmental Health Services-Food employees working in San Bernardino County are required to obtain a food worker card from San Bernardino County, Environmental Health Services only. Food worker cards from other counties, programs or companies are not an acceptable substitute. Please call 1‐800‐442‐2283 for more information about our food worker training.
- Restaurant Business MagazineRestaurantBusinessOnline.com, formerly known as MonkeyDish.com, provides benchmarks, ideas, innovations, legislative updates, economic news and other business intelligence for the operators of chain and independent restaurants at all price and service levels.
- FoodSafety.govThe Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) serve important roles in ensuring food safety in the United States.
- NPR The Salt WHAT'S ON YOUR PLATEWith a pinch of skepticism and a dash of fun, The Salt covers food news from the farm to the plate and beyond. You can connect with senior editor and host Maria Godoy via our contact form or directly by email. You can also reach correspondent Allison Aubrey via email.
- Restaurant HospitalityIndependent restaurant operators make up the bulk of the $800 billion foodservice industry in the U.S. Those operators include mom-and-pops with a single unit, emerging young concepts with plans for growth and large multi-million-dollar companies with a diverse portfolio of unique restaurant brands. With nearly a 100-year-history, Restaurant Hospitality is dedicated to serving the needs of those independent operators, giving them inspiration and information about how to run their businesses better.
- Hospitality OnlineHospitality Online is a job board, a recruiting hub, an applicant tracking system, an assessment tool, a talent community, and an onboarding platform. We believe the candidate experience should be on par with your guest experience. Let us help you source, identify, and hire the right fit.
Career Information
- Career OneStopEmployment information, information about hot careers by region, as well as general career information.
- O*NET OnlineThe O*NET database of occupational information includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with various occupations as well as access to the Dictionary of Occupational Titles.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookProvides information on various careers, including required training, salary ranges, and estimates of the future job market for that career.
- Chef2ChefChef2Chef brings together culinary professionals and foodies alike, connecting them through stories, student blogs, and recipes. This site aims to connects prospective students to the culinary arts programs & schools,
- HcareersHcareers, founded its roots as a hotel job board in 1998. Since then, the company has evolved into a real-time, tech-first solution for both employers and professionals in North America's burgeoning hospitality industry and takes great pride in being one of the largest communities of hospitality talent. We are a trusted resource backed by a team of experienced people who are whole-heartedly focused on helping address the industry's greatest challenges, which are talent acquisition and career management. This is what makes us the preferred destination for both hospitality employers looking to secure the best talent in the industry and hospitality professionals looking to build and manage a successful career.
Fact Check your sources using SIFT -- Click through the tabs to begin the tutorial
Introducing SIFT
SIFT is an easy-to-use four-step method of fact-checking information you find anywhere. Digital literacy expert Mike Caulfield has created a few short videos to explain how to best use SIFT.
Step 1: Stop!
Before you use a source. ask yourself:
Who's responsible for the information?
Who created and disseminated it? And do you recognize the source?
If so, do you trust it? If the answer is no or you're unsure, consider some of the following:
Step 2: Investigate the Source
What do others have to say about the organization and the creators? (Hint: Try scanning the Wikipedia article on the source, if there is one) Look for surprises, particularly those that deviate from your initial impression! Take a look at the video (2:45) that covers how to fact-check efficiently and effectively by "reading vertically"
Step 3: Find Better Coverage
If you're unsure about a source especially if it is making a claim that you want to use or share, investigate if other sources that you trust more are also making the claim. The following video (4:10) covers strategies for finding better coverage of a claim:
Step 4: Trace Claims, Quotes and media to the Original Context
Context is critical when it comes to information claims. And information changes as it gets passed along and shared, sometimes unintentionally, sometimes deliberately. So, consider tracing the claim back to its original source and context. Take a look at the following video (1:33) that covers tips for "going upstream" and finding the original context:
Google Advanced Search
Quick Tip: If you are searching Google for a website with a specific domain, such as a .gov or .edu, when you type in your search add "site:" and the domain type at the end of your search term. For example, if you wanted to find government websites on gun control, type in "gun control site:.gov". Or if you wanted to specifically search for non-profit websites that had information on wildlife, type in "wildlife site:.org".
- Google Advanced SearchUse to specify website domain when searching, such as .gov sites for government information.
Organizations
- Food & Culinary ProfessionalsFCP - Food & Culinary Professionals - is a Dietetic Practice Group of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics whose members are committed to developing food expertise throughout the profession of dietetics.
- National Restaurant AssociationThe National Restaurant Association is the largest foodservice trade association in the world. We represent and advocate on behalf of more than 500,000 restaurant businesses.
- ServSafeServSafe has been the restaurant industry's leading association since 1919 and, together with the National Restaurant Association Education Foundation, our goal is to lead America's restaurant industry into a new era of prosperity, prominence, & participation, enhancing the quality of life for all we serve.
- American Culinary FederationEstablished in 1929, ACF is the premier professional chefs’ organization in North America with more than 14,000 members in over 170 chapters nationwide.
- The American Society of BakingThe American Society of Baking is a community of baking industry professionals who have joined together to provide continuing education, networking opportunities and professional development. The members include commercial bakers, engineers, food technologists and the suppliers of equipment, ingredients, and services in the grain-based food industry.