Culinary & Baking related eBooks
Cook, Taste, Learn by
Cooking food is one of the activities that makes humanity unique. It's not just about what tastes good: advances in cooking technology have been a constant part of our progress, from the ability to control fire to the emergence of agriculture to modern science's understanding of what happens at a molecular level when we apply heat to food. Mastering new ways of feeding ourselves has resulted in leaps in longevity and explosions in population?and the potential of cooking science is still largely untapped. In Cook, Taste, Learn, the food scientist and best-selling author Guy Crosby offers a lively tour of the history and science behind the art of cooking, with a focus on achieving a healthy daily diet. He traces the evolution of cooking from its earliest origins, recounting the innovations that have unraveled the mysteries of health and taste. Crosby explains why both home cooks and professional chefs should learn how to apply cooking science, arguing that we can improve the nutritional quality and gastronomic delight of everyday eating. Science-driven changes in the way we cook can help reduce the risk of developing chronic diseases and enhance our quality of life. The book features accessible explanations of complex topics as well as a selection of recipes that illustrate scientific principles. Cook, Taste, Learn reveals the possibilities for transforming cooking from a craft into the perfect blend of art and science.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780231192927Publication Date: 2019-12-10
Food Safety by
Presenting compelling and current information about some of the most important food safety issues, this book is an invaluable reference for anyone interested in avoiding foodborne disease or understanding how food safety standards could be improved. Food safety affects everyone. For citizens who live in industrialized nations, it is easy to assume that our foods are always rigorously inspected and assessed for safety. While food safety standards and regulations are in place to protect the consumer public, food safety problems do exist: according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, each year, 48 million Americans are sickened by food,128,000 people are sick enough that they are hospitalized as a result, and 3,000 people die from foodborne pathogens. This third edition of Food Safety: A Reference Handbook examines the history of food safety and describes in detail key events and trends that have created the food safety issues of today. It explores the many controversies concerning food consumption, including contaminants in food, GMOs, factory farm-produced meat, and standards regarding the labeling of food products as well as the ways that these issues have been handled by authorities. Readers will find this book's overview of food safety topics informative and highly accessible. Additionally, the perspectives chapter provides varying viewpoints from food safety professionals and researchers on key issues. Provides an up-to-date summary of food safety issues, many of which are controversial or commonly discussed in the media Offers a breadth of perspectives about the future of food safety from a range of professionals Includes an excerpt from the 2011 Food Safety Modernization Act that enables readers to directly examine the key elements of this law that affects many aspects of the food we eat
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440852626Publication Date: 2017-02-13
Professional Baking by
Professional Baking, 7th Edition is the latest release of the market leading title for the baking course. Focused on both understanding and performing, its goal is to provide students and working chefs with a solid theoretical and practical foundation in baking practices, including selection of ingredients, proper mixing and baking techniques, careful makeup and assembly, and skilled and imaginative decoration and presentation in a straight-forward, learner-friendly style.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119148449Publication Date: 2017-09-21
Taking the Heat : Women Chefs and Gender Inequality in the Professional Kitchen by ISBN: 9780813571270Publication Date: 2015-05-20
Library Online eBooks
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
Book Image
Why Use Books and eBooks?
Books are a great place to start your research because:
- They're a good source for background and a quick history on a topic: the who, what, where, when and why!
- They can also help narrow down a broad topic and find smaller issues within a topic.
- They've been reviewed and evaluated before being published, so they are credible resources.
How to Find Print and Electronic Books
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
Type in search term(s) and press the Search button.
Hint: Scan the titles/subjects listed for ebooks in your results to more quickly locate items more relevant to your topic.
Tips:
- The Subjects area can also be a good place to look for other search terms related to your topic.
- Use the Table of Contents link to scan an ebook for promising sections/chapters. Some of the sections have plus signs (+) next to them; click on the plus sign to view smaller sections.
- Or click on the PDF Full Text link and the book will open up with a Table of Contents available on the left-hand side.
Another useful tool for scanning for relevant information is the Search this eBook tool accessible via the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the full-text page. Type in a word or phrase, and page(s) containing those term(s) will appear in the upper portion of the web page.
To move between pages of a book, use the navigation buttons at the bottom of the webpage. There are icons for printing, downloading, emailing and citing in the Tools area to the right.
Note: This is our one database that limits downloading, printing, emailing, & saving to 60 pages per session.
Here at Chaffey, you have access to over 90,000 print books at our Libraries and full-text access to over 200,000 ebooks online!
Locating Print Books- When viewing the search results list, an item's status is shown in green text. An item's location is shown in blue text. In the example below, the book "Paula" is shown as Available at Chaffey College Rancho in the General Collection. The item's call number is 863. A43. Click on the title or image of a book in the results page to view more information.
- Location- Books can be located at our Chino, Fontana or Rancho locations. Reserve items can only be used and returned at item's home location.
- Status- If the status is listed as Available, the item should be on our shelves. Other statuses such as Checked Out or Lost indicate that the item is not available at the moment.
- Call Number- Be sure to note the item's call number, as it is needed to find the item in the library. Reserve items are available at the front desk.
Chaffey ID required for check-out of books and use of Reserve items.
E-books- To access an e-book, click on the title or the Available Online link. Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.
Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.
