Research Guides: Ukraine Crisis: Articles

What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
	Scholarly Articles	Popular Articles
Examples	Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies	Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
Purpose	In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research	Provide general information for the public
Author	Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials	Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
Audience	Scholars, researchers and students	General public
Language	Specialized terminology	General vocabulary
Images	Few photos & ads	More photos & ads
Accountability	Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field	Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
References	Required	Generally not listed

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text scholarly journals in the area of business as well as financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine and academic journal articles in the field of politics and government, many relevant to the history field.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.

Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.

Ukraine Conflict, 2014-
Results from Academic Search Complete on the Ukraine Conflict, sorted by Date Newest.
Article Results-Putin, Vladimir
Full-text articles from Academic Search Complete on the topic of Vladimir Putin.
Results from Opposing Viewpoints-Volodymyr Zelenskyy
Resource results from our Opposing Viewpoints datapase on Volodymyr Zelenskyy.