Website Evaluation Tutorial
- Website Evaluation TutorialIf you're starting a research assignment and want to do a quick review on how to evaluate websites. Check out our online website evaluation tutorial.
Website Domain Types
.com – Commercial websites
- Generally created by a business or corporation and is for profit.
- Provides information on products or is motivated by sales.
.edu – Educational websites
- Created by a college, university or grade school.
- Information is provided for academic purposes.
- Highly regulated and can only be owned by an educational organization.
.gov – Government websites
- Created by local, state, and national goverments.
- Information is provided for the public.
- Highly regulated and can only be owned by a government organization.
.org – Organization website
- Used by both non-profit organizations, for profit corporations and individuals.
- Organization websites can be owned by a corporation and be sales motivated, owned by an individual or owned by a non-profit organization that provides information supporting a specific cause or viewpoint.
- Carefully evaluate non-profit organizations as they can have a particular viewpoint on an issue, so the information they provide can be biased or slanted in order to support their viewpoint.
Recommended Websites
- FAA: Become an Aviation MechanicFrom the Federal Aviation Administration (faa.gov). Requirements, training, experience needed to become an aviation mechanic.
- Aviation industry mechanics retiring faster than they are being replacedAn article from Transportation Today, describing current hiring conditions in the aviation mechanic field.
- Transportation TodayTransportation Today is a publication of Macallan Communications. It is your daily source of news about the latest regulations and innovations that drive the transportation industry across its diverse network: roadways, railroads, aviation and maritime.
- Aviation Maintenance Today: Changes and ChallengesFrom Emery-Riddle Aeronautical University, one of the top higher educational institutions providing degrees in piloting and other aeronautical areas.
Aviation Technology Magazines
- Aviation Maintenance MagazineEstablished for over 30 years, it is one of the leading global journals covering MRO, upgrades and refurbishment on commercial, Business/GA and military aircraft. Subscriptions are free, using an email to sign up.
- Flying MagazineFlying Magazine, established in 1927 as a source on the aviation industry. Some articles and newsletter is free.
Careers in Aviation Technology
- What Does an Aircraft Mechanic Do?Description of the skills and education needed for aviation mechanic. National Aviation Academy (NAA) is an aviation maintenance school that has been training technicians since 1932.
- Federal Aviation Administration: Become an Aviation MechanicCovers the requirements to become an FAA certified aviation mechanic. FAA-certificated Aviation Maintenance Technicians (AMT) work in highly-technical specialty occupations involving the continued operational safety of products and articles, keeping U.S.-registered aircraft operating safely and efficiently.
Certification in Aviation Mechanics
- Airmen Mechanic TestingLinks for testing for aviation. Includes pilots and mechanics testing. From the FAA.
- Aircraft Mechanic Oral, Practical, & Written TestsFrom the Federal Aviation Administration. There are three knowledge tests required to receive the Aviation Mechanic certification with Airframe and/or Powerplant ratings. You must take the General knowledge test first, followed by the Airframe and/or Powerplant knowledge test(s). Provides example test questions and booklets.
OER Resources
- Embry-Riddle Aeronatical UniversityList of OER resources from Embry-Riddle. Textbooks, sources from the FAA and NASA and NTSB.
Fact Check your sources using SIFT -- Click through the tabs to begin the tutorial
Introducing SIFT
SIFT is an easy-to-use four-step method of fact-checking information you find anywhere. Digital literacy expert Mike Caulfield has created a few short videos to explain how to best use SIFT.
Step 1: Stop!
Before you use a source. ask yourself:
Who's responsible for the information?
Who created and disseminated it? And do you recognize the source?
If so, do you trust it? If the answer is no or you're unsure, consider some of the following:
Step 2: Investigate the Source
What do others have to say about the organization and the creators? (Hint: Try scanning the Wikipedia article on the source, if there is one) Look for surprises, particularly those that deviate from your initial impression! Take a look at the video (2:45) that covers how to fact-check efficiently and effectively by "reading vertically"
Step 3: Find Better Coverage
If you're unsure about a source especially if it is making a claim that you want to use or share, investigate if other sources that you trust more are also making the claim. The following video (4:10) covers strategies for finding better coverage of a claim:
Step 4: Trace Claims, Quotes and media to the Original Context
Context is critical when it comes to information claims. And information changes as it gets passed along and shared, sometimes unintentionally, sometimes deliberately. So, consider tracing the claim back to its original source and context. Take a look at the following video (1:33) that covers tips for "going upstream" and finding the original context:
Google Advanced Search
Quick Tip: If you are searching Google for a website with a specific domain, such as a .gov or .edu, when you type in your search add "site:" and the domain type at the end of your search term. For example, if you wanted to find government websites on gun control, type in "gun control site:.gov". Or if you wanted to specifically search for non-profit websites that had information on wildlife, type in "wildlife site:.org".
- Google Advanced SearchUse to specify website domain when searching, such as .gov sites for government information.