eBooks
The Hidden History of Guns and the Second Amendment by
"In this precise primer on firearms practices and policies, progressive talk-show host Hartmann examines the history of routine gun usage and extreme gun violence and assesses the influence of gun ownership on contemporary political, economic, and social norms...A brief but powerful analysis of a searing national crisis." --Booklist Thom Hartmann, the most popular progressive radio host in America and a New York Times bestselling author, looks at the real history of guns in America and what we can do to limit both their lethal impact and the power of the gun lobby. Taking his typically in-depth, historically informed view, Hartmann examines the brutal role guns have played in American history, from the genocide of the Native Americans to the enforcement of slavery (Slave Patrols are in fact the Second Amendment's "well-regulated militias") and the racist post-Civil War social order. He shows how the NRA and conservative Supreme Court justices used specious logic to invent a virtually unlimited individual right to own guns, which has enabled the ever-growing number of mass shootings in the United States. But Hartmann also identifies a handful of powerful, commonsense solutions that would break the power of the gun lobby and restore the understanding of the Second Amendment that the Framers of the Constitution intended. This is the kind of brief, brilliant analysis for which Hartmann is justly renowned.
ISBN: 9781523085996Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Library Online eBooks
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 200,000 full-text eBooks, many by academic and university presses published in the past ten years. Good for reliable background information on broad topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable access over 60 specialized encyclopedias full-text.
Why Use Books and eBooks?
Books are a great place to start your research because:
- They're a good source for background and a quick history on a topic: the who, what, where, when and why!
- They can also help narrow down a broad topic and find smaller issues within a topic.
- They've been reviewed and evaluated before being published, so they are credible resources.
Access Print and eBooks Using OneSearch:
Here at Chaffey, you have access to over 90,000 print books at our Libraries and full-text access to over 200,000 ebooks online!
Locating Print Books
Starting a search
To view print books ONLY, use OneSearch to begin your search
In the left-hand column under Refine Results, select Held by the Library under Availability and Books under Resource Type
You should have a list of print books in the library.
Viewing your Results
An item's status is shown in green text; the item's location is shown in blue.
The example below shows the book "Paula" as Available at Chaffey College Rancho in the General Collection. The item's call number is 863. A43. Click on the title or image of a book on the results page to view more information.
- Location- Books can be located at our Chino, Fontana, or Rancho locations. Reserve items can only be used and returned at the item's home location.
- Status- If the status is listed as Available, the item should be on our shelves. Other statuses, such as Checked Out or Lost, indicate that the item is unavailable.
- Call Number- Be sure to note the item's call number, as it is needed to find it in the library. Reserve items are available at the front desk.
NOTE: Your Chaffey ID is required for check-out of books and use of Reserve items.
Finding eBooks
Starting a search
To view eBooks ONLY, OneSearch to begin your search
In the left-hand column under Refine Results, select Available Online under Availability and Books under Resource Type
You should have a list of ebooks in the library collection.
Viewing your Results
To access an e-book, click on the title or the Available Online link. Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.
Then, click on the link(s) shown in the "View Online" area.
Then, log in using MyChaffey credentials. To view the Book, select View PDF
Navigating eBooks
Another useful tool for scanning for relevant information is the Search Within tool on the left-hand side of the full-text page.
Type in a word or phrase, and page(s) containing those term(s) will appear in the upper portion of the web page.
To move between book pages, use the navigation buttons at the bottom of the webpage. There are icons for printing, downloading, emailing, permalinks, and citing in the Tools area to the right.
Note: Downloading, printing, emailing, & saving pages can vary according to publisher