Research Guides: Gun Control: Find Articles

Database Search Tips

Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?

Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information

Recommended Databases

Tip: Search for various terms, such as "Background checks", "gun control" and other similar terms, and combine them with other related topics. If you don't seem to find what you're looking for, find a few articles, see what terminology is being used, and try another search using that vocabulary.

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Great place to find up to date and current information on a topic. Full-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine and academic journal articles in the field of politics and government, many relevant to the history field.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text access to academic and professional research resources in the areas of administration of justice, correctional science and related fields.