Searching Google, PubMed, Wikipedia, and other sites?
LibKey Nomad connects you to articles in Google Scholar, PubMed, Wikipedia, and other sites through journals subscribed to by your library.
Download the LibKey Nomad extension in your browser, then select Chaffey College as your organization.
Once installed, look for the LibKey Icon at the bottom left of the page.
For more help, see this video.
Database Search Tips
Use a variety of words when searching the databases.
Are you getting too many results?
- Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "mental health"
- Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Teens" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information
Recommended Databases
Tip: Search for various terms, such as "Roe v. Wade," "Abortion," and other similar terms, and combine them with other related topics. If you don't find what you're looking for, find a few articles, see what terminology is being used, and try another search using that vocabulary, or ask us for help!
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowExcellent place to find current information, and a range of opinions. Includes book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine, and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data, updated daily. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
- Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowGreat for finding up-to-date, current information on a breaking story. Includes full-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes magazine and academic journal articles in the field of politics and government, many relevant to the history field.
A - Z Database List & Database Help
- Articles & Database A-Z ListOur complete list of databases on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7; log in with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.