Research Guides: Mass Shootings: Find Articles

Database Search Tips

Use Keywords when searching the databases. Getting too many results?

Make sure your topic isn't too broad, such as "Health"
Try narrowing your topic by:
- Including a group or population, such as "Children" (A topic on "Health" could become "Childhood Obesity")
- Including a location, such as California
- Limit the date range to the last 5 or 10 years to get up-to-date information

Searching Library Databases

Articles & Database A-Z List
Our complete list of databases on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7; log in with your MyChaffey information.
How to use Library Databases at Chaffey College
Videos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.

What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
	Scholarly Articles	Popular Articles
Examples	Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies	Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
Purpose	In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research	Provide general information for the public
Author	Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials	Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content
Audience	Scholars, researchers and students	General public
Language	Specialized terminology	General vocabulary
Images	Few photos & ads	More photos & ads
Accountability	Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field	Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists)
References	Required	Generally not listed

Recommended Databases

Tip: Search for various terms, such as "Background checks", "gun control" and other similar terms, and combine them with other related topics. If you don't seem to find what you're looking for, find a few articles, see what terminology is being used, and try another search using that vocabulary.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text access to academic and professional research resources in the areas of administration of justice, correctional science and related fields.
Newspapers - US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to The New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present)Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Extensive list of sample topics on front page leading to gateways of full-text resources including: book chapters, viewpoint essays, news, magazine and academic journal articles as well as some statistical data. Watch the How to Use Opposing Viewpoints video.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine and academic journal articles in the field of politics and government, many relevant to the history field.

Subject Journal Titles

Criminology & Public Policy
Devoted to policy discussions of criminology research findings. The central objective of the journal is to strengthen the role of research findings in the formulation of crime & justice policy by publishing empirically based, policy focused articles.
Journal of Quantitative Criminology
Focuses on research advances from such fields as statistics, sociology, geography, political science, economics, & engineering.
Journal of Social, Behavioral & Health Sciences
Provides information about the relationship between practice and research in the social, behavioral and health sciences.