This is a JavaScript menu. Please enable scripts in your browser. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

One Book One College 2012 - 2013: Databases

Research tips for One Book One College assignments

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Key Databases for One Book One College

Literary Reference Center
Provides book reviews, literary criticism and plot summaries. Information on authors and their works for a broad spectrum of literature.

Academic Search Complete
Articles from scholarly journals and other periodicals; book reviews.

Lexis Nexis
Useful for book reviews and other articles from newspapers.

Gale Virtual Reference
Provides excerpts from reference books such as specialized encyclopedias.  Useful for general overview of the topic.

CQ Researcher
Comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. 

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Articles on current, controversial issues.

JSTOR
Scholarly articles from academic journals and other publications in a wide range of disciplines.


Finding Articles for One Book One College

1. Starting Out. Go to the library homepage and click on Agent: Find Articles, eBooks, eRes (Electronic Reserves). 

2. Logging in to Agent. Whether you are on or off-campus, you will need to login to Agent in order to access article databases.

My Account Login Page

 Login in with your 7 digit ID number and your 6 digit birthdate.

 If you have any problems logging in, click here for troubleshooting tips.

 If you are still having trouble, please contact us. 

3. Choosing a Database. Once you've logged in, you will be taken to the Databases page. From there, you will be able to choose how you want to look for articles.

  • Under "By Subject", click on [Insert Subject Area Link Here]
  • Choose the [Insert Name of Database link here] Database

4.  Searching the Database.

  • Determine which type of article you want- scholarly (academic) or popular.*
  • Determine the date range the articles should fall within.
  • Determine search terms or keywords you will use. Start with fewer search terms and then use more terms if necessary to narrow down your results.
  • Scan citations or read abstracts to determine if articles are relevant.

*Many databases have this search feature

5. Getting the Articles. Most databases will allow you to print, email or save articles. Many also allow you to email citations along with the article. Always make sure to check these generated citations for accuracy before including them in your assignment.

Chaffey College • 5885 Haven Avenue, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737 - 3002 • 909/652-6000
 Powered by Springshare • LibApps LoginFeedbackBI SurveyLibrary Activities