Searching Library Databases
- Articles & Database A-Z ListList of all the library databases containing articles on various subject areas. Online access is available 24/7, just login with your MyChaffey information.
- How to use Library Databases at Chaffey CollegeVideos, handouts, and step-by-step instructions on how to navigate some of the library's most popular databases.
Find all the articles
https://imgflip.com/i/1p2nj1
Recommended Databases for Psychology
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowA source of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in the field of psychology.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to articles out of academic journals as well as general interest magazines with excellent coverage in a wide variety of disciplines. Watch the How To Use Academic Search Complete video.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains full-text journal articles, books and monographs as well as conference papers in the field of sociology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to full-text scholarly journals from a wide variety of fields. Contains the full archive of most journals, except for the current 1-5 years. Watch the How to Use JSTOR video.
What is the Difference Between Scholarly & Popular Articles?
Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journal Articles vs. Popular Magazine Articles
Journal Articles
- Scholarly, peer reviewed and carefully fact checked
- Written by subject specialists, often containing original research
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles Scholarly Articles Popular Articles Purpose In-depth and subject specific, often contains original research Provide general information for the public Author Scholar or subject specialist, provides credentials Journalist, non-subject specialist paid for content Audience Scholars, researchers and students General public Language Specialized terminology General vocabulary Images Few photos & ads More photos & ads Accountability Peer-reviewed and fact checked by experts in the field Reviewed by editorial staff (not subject specialists) References Required Generally not listed Examples Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Nursing Ethics, Engineering Studies Time, Newsweek, Vanity Fair
Subject Journal Titles
- American PsychologistAvailable in PsycARTICLES, 1946-current
- Motivation ScienceAvailable in PsycARTICLES, 2014-current
- Psychology & Psychotherapy: Theory, Research & PracticeOriginal theoretical and research contributions on psychodynamic, interpersonal and other psychological aspects of mental health and the psychological therapies.
- Psychology, Community & HealthPublishes articles in the field of psychology with a focus on research developed in community- and health-related contexts.
- Psychology and AgingAvailable in PsycARTICLES, 1986 - current
- Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender DiversityAvailable in PsychARTICLES, 2013-current
- Psychology of ViolenceAvailable in PsychARTICLES, 2010-current
Scholarly & Popular Sources Video
A transcript is in the process of being created for this video. If you need assistance, please contact the Reference Librarian at library@chaffey.edu.
Carnegie Vincent Library. "Scholarly and Popular Sources." YouTube. YouTube, 22 Mar. 2013. Web. 22 Oct. 2014.